We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
99
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating luxurious linens b and b room was spacious city centre place to stay gabrielle host plymouth toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Airlie House is charming to an extreme, this old villa has been beautifully restored and is immaculate in every way. Located in central New Plymouth it is private and quiet.
We were in the Drawing Room with the bed divided into 2 singles as we had requested. The room was very spacious and had a window seat, desk, tv and ensuite. The choice of teas, coffee and milo together with cookies and chocolate which greeted us on arrival was really appreciated. We also had the use of two lounges one with a huge tv and literally hundreds of dvds.
Breakfast was excellent especially starting with a fruit platter which included strawberries.
Our host Gabrielle was friendly and extremely helpful with advice about the area. My wife's parting comment that she was leaving feeling that she had made a friend in Gabrielle summed up our stay.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have been in New Zealand for five weeks and this was our last B&B. It was one of the nicest. We stayed in a first floor room with a private bath, not an ensuite. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge. It had a shower and a claw foot bathtub. This bathroom like others where we have stayed had a heated floor and heated towel rack. This bathroom also had a mirror demister. Very nice touch. The B&B is a short walk to the town center and the Coastal Walk. Gabrielle was an excellent host and cooked a very good breakfast to order.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Large room, modern bathroom and king-sized bed make Airlie House a standout B&B. The bedroom would have to be one of the largest and most tastefully decorated rooms in any B&B. The décor had an elegance about it without being over-the-top. This is also a reflection of the level of service provided. The cooked breakfast was wonderful, with fresh everything! The king-size bed was comfy and came with a great selection of pillows making for great night’s sleep. Room and ensuite were spotless with the in-floor heating in the bathroom greatly appreciated. Although located on one of the major roads into central New Plymouth, peak hour is short and noise is not an issue although our stay was on a Friday night. Airlie House is located just a short stroll from the waterfront and restaurants making a pleasant way to end the drive to New Plymouth. Just Beautiful!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Airlie House was a lovely place to stay - I only wish we could have stayed longer! The house is beautiful and immaculate, but also warm and homey. Gabrielle was very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was awesome and I loved the bath with feet :) Will definitely return when we come back to New Plymouth.

Room tip: Stay in the garden room - it has the bath with feet!
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed two nights as part of a five week road tour of New Zealand and Eastern Australia, and Airlie House compares with our best accommodation on the trip. A charming home built almost a century ago, extremely clean, updated and well maintained with the unique characteristics of that era. The Garden Room is very spacious and private with wonderful bathroom and shares both a separate sitting room and second television room with wonderful movie collection. Beautiful period furniture and decorations throughout. Gabrielle is a gracious host, providing local knowledge if asked. There are great mountain hikes close by, and don't miss the ocean boardwalk which is within walking distance. Breakfast has all you need, with fresh fruits, cereals and yogurt in addition to cooked choices. We couldn't have chosen better.

Rick and Ann

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews