We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unbeatable!”
Review of Airlie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airlie House
Ranked #4 of 25 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place is unique. Classic, extremely clean, a divine breakfast and all a stones throw from the city. Gabrielle is the perfect hostess, provides everything you will need and still gives you your privacy. You will never want to get out of the bath but when you do there are heated floor tiles to greet you! You won't find better than this! Thanks Gabrielle x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 499Janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Airlie House for 1 night and it was the best B & B we have been to. The rooms were spacious - we had a room equiped with kitchen facilities upstairs, and the living areas were excellent. Beautiful house, and garden, and Gabrielle was a great hostess. The house is central to everything and we would have loved to stay longer. We will go back and can't recommend Airlie House highly enough.

Room Tip: Upstairs bedroom has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed with Gabrielle at her beautiful home for one night. She was a wonderful host and made sure our stay was perfect. We had a garden room overlooking the front lawn and a most amazing bathroom with an old fashioned claw bath. Breakfast was a feast and we shared our table with two other guests who were most entertaining. The location was perfect, just a short stroll into the town centre. Unfortunately we did not have much time to explore but hope to return to do so.
Icing on the cake for my husband was the show round of the ' garage'. As a petrol head it was his dream to have.
A very enjoyable time spent and we would definitely return. Thank You!

Room Tip: We had the front garden room and an amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Not sure where to start
Rooms were very clean with great decor
Breakfast was fit for a king n queen
Service was outstanding and nothing was any trouble
This will be our place to stay every time we are in the nacky.
Thankyou Gabrielle for all your help n pass my regards on to John and Dean

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed for four nights and cannot fault it. The room was perfect and facilities excellent (and spotless). Gabrielle is a wonderful and unobtrusive host and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Definitely the nicest place we stayed on our trip. Gabrielle's attention to detail was great e.g. I mentioned that I drink trim milk and the next day the prepackaged milk in our fridge had been replaced with a jug of trim milk. Lovely bed, great shower, nice smelling toiletries, yummy cookies, wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkythekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My second visit to Airlie House and again, I couldn't fault it. Gabrielle is a wonderful host and I immediately felt as though I was returning to visit a friend. Stayed in the Garden Room which is large with a view of the gardens and it's own enormous bathroom with Pure Fiji toiletries (my favourite brand). Breakfasts were excellent and Gabrielle was kind enough to make me an omelette one morning which was most appreciated - another instance of her hospitality.
I will definitely stay there again on my next annual visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wonderful house & room -- both very tastefully appointed, spotlessly clean and very well located on a quiet lot conveniently adjacent to the CBD. Gabrielle is a very friendly gracious host, breakfast was great! I will certainly return if in the New Plymouth area again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank randnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#10 of 30 in New Plymouth
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House

Address: 161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range: £94 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Airlie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing