We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in New Plymouth”
Review of Airlie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airlie House
Ranked #4 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best in New Plymouth”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Absolutely fantastic. We have been staying here for 9 years and would not stay anywhere else in New Plymouth. The accommodation is beautiful with lovely extra touches like nice toiletries and delicious home baking. There is a great guest living area and TV room and a lovely verandah to relax on in the evening. Breakfast is awesome. Location is excellent with restaurants just a 10 minute stroll away and it is also close to the coastal walkway and Pukekura park. Gay is the most wonderful hostess - there when you need her but doesn't intrude on your privacy. She is very knowledgeable about the area and can help make your stay more enjoyable. She is a keen traveller and we always enjoy swapping travel stories. Airlie House is truly the best accommodation in New Plymouth. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HookedOnTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place is unique. Classic, extremely clean, a divine breakfast and all a stones throw from the city. Gabrielle is the perfect hostess, provides everything you will need and still gives you your privacy. You will never want to get out of the bath but when you do there are heated floor tiles to greet you! You won't find better than this! Thanks Gabrielle x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 499Janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Airlie House for 1 night and it was the best B & B we have been to. The rooms were spacious - we had a room equiped with kitchen facilities upstairs, and the living areas were excellent. Beautiful house, and garden, and Gabrielle was a great hostess. The house is central to everything and we would have loved to stay longer. We will go back and can't recommend Airlie House highly enough.

Room Tip: Upstairs bedroom has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed with Gabrielle at her beautiful home for one night. She was a wonderful host and made sure our stay was perfect. We had a garden room overlooking the front lawn and a most amazing bathroom with an old fashioned claw bath. Breakfast was a feast and we shared our table with two other guests who were most entertaining. The location was perfect, just a short stroll into the town centre. Unfortunately we did not have much time to explore but hope to return to do so.
Icing on the cake for my husband was the show round of the ' garage'. As a petrol head it was his dream to have.
A very enjoyable time spent and we would definitely return. Thank You!

Room Tip: We had the front garden room and an amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Not sure where to start
Rooms were very clean with great decor
Breakfast was fit for a king n queen
Service was outstanding and nothing was any trouble
This will be our place to stay every time we are in the nacky.
Thankyou Gabrielle for all your help n pass my regards on to John and Dean

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed for four nights and cannot fault it. The room was perfect and facilities excellent (and spotless). Gabrielle is a wonderful and unobtrusive host and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Definitely the nicest place we stayed on our trip. Gabrielle's attention to detail was great e.g. I mentioned that I drink trim milk and the next day the prepackaged milk in our fridge had been replaced with a jug of trim milk. Lovely bed, great shower, nice smelling toiletries, yummy cookies, wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkythekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My second visit to Airlie House and again, I couldn't fault it. Gabrielle is a wonderful host and I immediately felt as though I was returning to visit a friend. Stayed in the Garden Room which is large with a view of the gardens and it's own enormous bathroom with Pure Fiji toiletries (my favourite brand). Breakfasts were excellent and Gabrielle was kind enough to make me an omelette one morning which was most appreciated - another instance of her hospitality.
I will definitely stay there again on my next annual visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#5 of 24 in New Plymouth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House

Property: Airlie House
Address: 161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Airlie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing