We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pukeiti”

Pukeiti Rhododendron Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned for its rhododendron collection, Pukeiti is a 360 ha rainforest property located between Mount Taranaki and the coast, just south of New Plymouth. Established in 1951, Pukeiti is an internationally recognised garden and plant collection. Owned and managed by the Taranaki Regional Council on behalf of the people of the region. Enjoy it - it's yours.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pukeiti”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pukeiti Rhododendron Park is a joy at any time of the year. The time and money spent establishing this world class garden must have been worth it all and a joy to everyone who goes there. The upkeep although hard work must be a joy to everyone who is lucky enough to work here. Imagine being paid to work in Paradise. I intend to go back again when the Rhododendrons at at their best and it will be just one more visit of many

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    30
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a great day just strolling through the extensive park up steep paths between the rhododendrons , coming across ponds with sculpture and down to the main lake with it's café. On a warm day what could be better. Plenty of space and some very impressive trees.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rhodo's in Nature”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The drive in is a bit narrow in places and some folk were driving campers and buses in, a bit scarey. Definitely a medium car much better. If you are as keen gardener the trip is well worth it to see Rhodo's in their element. Some were huge,and the tracks and paths are grass or gravel. Flat walking shoes or if wet gumboots. The place is on the side of Mt Egmont/Taranaki sub tropical rain forest. There had been a lot of rain and storms just before we went, however to the staff's credit the pathways drain away and were clear. In a house along the way was a marvellous collection of the Rhododendron flowers which were all named. Entry is free, but donations appreciated as the park is run by the Taranaki Regional Council. They also had Rhododendron plants for sale and art display. The Tearooms serve nice coffee and a variety of light lunch, morning and afternoon tea food. The seating looks out over the hillside and garden. Very relaxing we spent approx 4 hours from when we left New Plymouth to visit this park. It wasn't crowded either which had alot of appeal for me. We chatted to a couple and you would never have guessed they lived in my home town where I was brought up!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Many paths to travel down”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Kinda of wild and dedicated. Many different species including a giant raja. Well laid out and off the beaten track.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greytyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Rhodo”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

great when all the trees are out and a very friendly cafe, If you just want a coffee and tea ask for the one in the cafe you make yourself ,, $3 less than a flat white and no waiting! Definitely go again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank alinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pukeiti Rhododendron Garden also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Pukeiti Rhododendron Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing