We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coronation Court Motel
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Rooms are very clean and tidy albeit slightly outdated. Noticed that some people had pets, so if you have a pet I would recommend this one. Nice hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is one of the older motels in New Plymouth but it is very clean, tidy and and has all the ammenities you need. It has zenbu wi-fi (first 50mg free then absolutely minimal cost after that), it was fully self contained and you can order breakfast if you want it. It may not have all the fancy-schmancy luxury toiletries the other places have but it does have the fluffiest towels I have had in a motel for a long time. And if paying $89 and missing out on some motel shampoo is the only negative, it's a total no-brainer! Would recommend, and would stay again. The breakfast is yummy too, by the way :0)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very old and dated motel, no hair dryer, only 3 sets of everything (cutlery) yes we stayed as 3 people but some people might use more then 1 spoon in 2 days don't you think. Tried to have a cup of tea in the moring, horrible taste I think even budget tea tastes better. Everything was very budget and old. The hosts were a nice old couple but we saw some people pulling up chatting to some friends that were staying in the same motel & the friends of the people were growled off by the owner for parking at the front of the motel. Seemed a bit mean and unprofessional and I doubt of the front road of the motel is your property if someone wants to pull over and have a chat then that shouldn't be of your consern. Also had a few long black hairs floating on the edges of the bathroom sink yuck, and please deodorise your closets as they smelt of old musky body odour.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happybumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed with my partner here for 3 days and we really enjoyed our time here. We booked a large studio and it was very clean, in good shape and we even had a balcony. The studio consisted of a fully equiped kitchen, one queen bed that was very comfy and an extra single bed that we did only use to place our staff on it:-). The carpet in our room was one of the cleanest we have ever seen compared to other Motels and was probably quite new.

After travelling over 6 months around the world and staying in hundred of different places, we must say that the hospitality here was outstanding! Fi and Ian were helping us whenever we needed some information, help in transportion and were always there for a little chat!

The Motel is approx. 2 kilometers away from the town center but with a car it is only a couple of minutes to get there. There is a wonderful park just around the corner which we definitely recommend to have a walk at. The Motel is also a good place to stay when you plan to climb Mount Taranaki/Egmont in one day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmBeachSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We just spent several days in New Plymouth at the Coronation Court Motel for the college sports championships for the Lower North Island, New Zealand.

It isn't a 5-start hotel but the reasonable rates reflect that. Coronation Court hosts Ian and Fi have done a wonderful job providing clean, comfortable and quiet accomodation. They are nice people too.

Since taking over management of the motel in early 2008 Ian and Fi have been upgrading the rooms. Our's was just right with plenty of room for our party of five. Everything in the room worked i.e. no broken furniture, leaky faucets, burned out light bulbs etc and there was no noise from the adjoining rooms (even though we had a soccer team on one side and a rugby team on the other). Rooms were clean and tidy and beds were very comfortable. Dial-up internet access worked fine and was surprisingly cheap.

The location, while not on the beach is actually very good. The motel is one minute walk to the Pukekura Racecourse (horse racing) and just beyond that is Brooklands Park and the TSB Arena where the Taranaki National Basketball Team plays.

We'll not hesitate to stay at the Coronation Court next time we are in New Plymouth. Well done Ian and FI!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DLShaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2006

I live in a double room. Facilities are ok. The room is quite small. They welcome those who belong pets which I do not prefer that.

The location is a little far from the city center. There are sevaral motel nearer. Since I travel by car, there is a little problem with this subject. The coronation street is one of the main street heading to a city center.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank noiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer maximal weit hinten im Hof nehmen, damit man von der Straße nichts mitbekommt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Packmichein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#29 of 30 in New Plymouth
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#13 of 30 in New Plymouth
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#21 of 30 in New Plymouth
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Court Motel

Address: 226 Coronation Avenue, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £41 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coronation Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coronation Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing