We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Had a good stay - the staff are nice and friendly. Comfortable beds and pillows with nice duvet.
Had lovely meal in the restaurant. Location nice and handy to town. Breakfast was good value and the room has good toiletries.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from the fitness centre and shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Hi Alicia,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to hear that our staff are nice and friendly, our beds and pillows are comfortable and our restaurant is lovely. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    80
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
105
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Nice hotel, room was large. Staff very friendly and overly helpful - nothing was too much to ask.

Restaurant was great and also priced similar to others in town. But be good as also lots of locals were eating there in the evening, not just hotel guests.

View of the mountain and beach was a nice sight to wake up to each day.

As other reviews have mentioned, it is a little noisy with trucks and trains passing by regularly. Double glazing would have helped with the noise and energy efficiency.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side facing the mountain & on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff looked after you well and met your expectations. We like to keep our menu prices competitive with other places in town; while maintaining great customer service, high quality food and an overall great dining experience. We have a fantastic location and it is great that most of our guests get to see Mount Taranaki during their stay in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We came to a boxing event that our son was in and grabbed a room here, pretty nice, kind of stock standard, don't get me wrong the room was really nice, just nothing too indifferent from other places like Auckland and Christchurch that we have stayed at,and we have stayed here a few times, awesum view from the front rooms, and we have had really good quality food at the salt restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandAngeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel and that you had a great dining experience in Salt Restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

My husband was travelling for business and I desided to take my 9month old daughter and I along for the ride. This hotel was pre booked for his trip. The 3 of us rocked up and from the moment we arrived they bent over backwards to accommodate us. "do we need a microwave in our room to heat baby food", baby friend table reserved for us just incase we decided to eat at the restaurant ( which we did and it was AMAZING-again staff were friendly and sooo helpful..... And the food brilliant, I could not have asked for more. Everything I had perfect!). Our little one is a crawler and you get good at inspecting the capet that they make them selves at home on and both our room and surrounding was super clean and tidy. Cannot rave enough about how amazing the staff are here and so willing to help make our stay memorable..... Which they have. Already can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback Kate. It is great to hear that our staff looked after you and were accommodating to your needs. We pride ourselves on excellent service and our staff are always happy to go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I will pass on your feedback about the cleanliness of the hotel to our housekeeping team. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Booked the Penthouse apartment : arriving from Auckland after a 5hrs drive we were impressed by stunning views as the hotel is facing the Tasman Sea, beautiful perfect rooms! Only problem when asking before booking we have been told it is quiet: wrong as the hotel is on the main road and not double glazed so you could hear the traffic! so we did "musical rooms" and changed to rooms facing the car park: not to romantic. Rooms are very clean and big. Friendly staff, only blip was the fib on regarding the quiet penthouse as if we knew from the beginning we could have booked somewhere else.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper do not get a room at the front! for all others location is great. Pricey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. Apologies for the noise you experienced from our Penthouse Suite, Occasionally we do experience heavy traffic from the Port , but this does not happen all the time. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we hope to have you stay with us again at The Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently. This is where I normally stay in New Plymouth. The rooms are a good size and the beds are quite good. Staff are very friendly. Bar is quite small, but there are lots of good bars in New Plymouth. Breakfast is cooked to order and the food is excellent.. I quite like seeing the weather wand from my room.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you very much Steve for your great feedback regarding you most recent stay with us. Its great to hear from regular guests we are doing things right. We appreciate it very much. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes from the Team @ The Waterfont Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was attending a party in New Plymouth and decided to stay here instead of with friends. So glad I did. I wanted a bit of luxury, close to town with parking. I found the two night deal offered made this relatively new hotel the same price as older motels - a great deal. The huge bed was so comfy with everything I need including some internet time each day - just ring reception for password. My room had no view to speak of as it faced the Museum but I was not concerned. If you want to watch the view get a drink in the bar or restaurant and sit on the deck. The lovely girl on reception was most helpful. The restaurant on site was handy and very nice food. The hotel is across the road from the beach but this causes a bit of an issue with young people gathering at night on occasion but police quickly dispersed these yahooers.
I was on my own and felt safe walking to the local bars to listen to the music and have a drink. If you are in the older bracket eg not 20 and still want to enjoy a drink out check out Good Home bar with live music and friendly staff - mixed ages 30-60 and just a short stroll around the corner. It seemed to be busy and open later on the Friday night. Infact it seems in New Plymouth people go out on Fridays not so much on Saturday.

Overall an excellent hotel in the middle of town with parking included.
P.S Love the shower and selection of towels including a larger one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us both in the Hotel and Salt Restaurant. The complementry 1 Hour internet is recently new so we are pleased you found it stress free. Some of our rooms are positioned for better views than others, If you ever return please contact us direct and we can arrange a room with a view for you. We are very central to all the hot spots and I am pleased you felt very safe around the CBD at night. Thanks again, I will pass your great comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing