We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it is”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for womad weekend. Doesn't stand out from other hotels I have stayed at. Bed was comfortable it was clean and shower had good pressure. Room service was a bit over zealous as they had folded up all the dirty laundry we left in plastic bag and the clothes in my bag??!!!

Even though it's waterfront had the back room which faced a nice barren concrete wall.

Reception was very slow to reply to emails. 24 hours was the quickest time

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgerqueen700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

We are disapointed we did not meet your expectations during you stay with us during Womad. We do take great pride in the cleaniness of our rooms and property. Not all rooms have full waterfront views unfortunately due to the layout of the building.
24 hours to recieve a reply from an email is not our normal practice so I will certainly follow this up with the team to prevent a repeat of this. Best wishes and thank you for your feed back. Appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel three times while we have been visiting New Plymouth and have enjoyed it every time. It offers lovely views from the restaurant the food is always great and the staff are friendly and helpful. Its location is very central and the main shopping area is close. Its not far to walk to New Plymouth's attractions such as Pukekura Park and the Bowl of Brooklands. The rooms are big and spacious and very well maintained. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay if visiting New Plymouth.

Room Tip: Every room we have used has been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0nt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to have you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront early in Jan 2013, this was our second visit and our room was much nicer. Room 305 overlooked the shops opposite, but we could see the ocean from the small balcony. But we thought it was much quieter traffic noise wise.
Nice big room, excellent bed and bedding, and a very nice breakfast each morning in Salt (this was part of the package plan).
Ideally situated for shopping and beach walks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 408MichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Any hotel (especially a 'luxury' boutique hotel) that charges $29 per day for internet does not deserve any rating beyond "poor"... It's ridiculous and a shameless money grab... The worst part is thier misleading adverts where they tell you they give you a free 30MB or one hour of internet, which I thought was fine, but the hour runs from the moment you log on, so you'll need to pay up for the $29 per 24hours - a bit of a scam.

Beyond that, it's a nice hotel, though not worth the $250 per night website rate... Think Hoilday Inn across the street from the beach... I paid $160 p/n via booking.com and that's about the ceiling I'd recommend (for the standard queen studio)... There's no bells and whistles to really separate it from the nicer motels you find in NZ...

The food at Salt is quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms face a parking lot with no terrace (teeny tiny) or they face the street w/ terrace, thus might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The one hour complimentary internet access that we offer is 30mb, this is generally enough for guests to check their emails, have a look on Facebook or browse the internet. The 30mb or one hour counts down while you are using the internet to enable you to see how much data or time you have remaining. We also have other pricing plans available, hopefully you will stay with us again and we can go through all the options with you and assist with which is best suited to your requirements in regards to megabyte usage and time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

we have just returned from another stay at this property! We had the penthouse suite again and it is stunning, well furnished, and really lacking nothing. Ease of parking, helpful staff and stunning views made the visit memorable. Other family members had a superior unit and they were also pleased!

Room Tip: double glazing would help for noise., as even with windows closed could still here the trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our Penthouse Suites really are amazing! We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had an unplanned stay here for one night when our flight from New Plymouth to Wellington was cancelled due to bad weather. A very nice room of a good size, we slept well after a delicious meal in Salt restaurant, sitting by the window watching the rain and fog roll in from the ocean. Staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for your review. It was unfortunate last weeks weather disrupted a lot of peoples travel plans, however it sounds like you had a lovely stay with us here at The Waterfront Hotel and enjoyed your meal in Salt Restaurant. Hopefully next time you are in town you will be able to enjoy some sun shine and the wonderful view of Mount Taranaki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

A perfect way to start your day must be to have breakfast overlooking the water.A great location in central city and an easy walk to anywhere.Food was fantastic,restaurant location with outside balcony a bonus and the staff went beyond the call of duty with their friendly and professional service.Thought it was expensive room rate for a weekend away however rooms were clean and of a good size.I would stay again.A tiny peak of the water from our room so a room with ocean views would be a good request and would then be probably worth the money.A Jetts gym available for guests a few minutes away.A walk along the boardwalk opposite the hotel is definitely worth doing.Overall a great weekend in New Plymouth.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was close to restaurant so a higher floor would eliminate the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend in New Plymouth and your stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel. I will pass your lovely comments about our staff on to the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing