We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay in NP”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have now made this my regular when in New Plymouth for work. A brilliant location, right opposite the coastal walkway. Good sized rooms, with plenty of space to work or just sit and rest. The fact that it also has an excellent restaurant is a real bonus. The only downside? Don't try the haggis with breakfast, it tastes almost entirely nothing like haggis!!

Room Tip: We seem to get a corporate discount on the disabled rooms - some may not like them, but not having a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your feed back. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.
Very excited to hear you enjoy staying with us. We no longer have the haggis on the menu so no need to worry about that, the new menu is Fab!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We spent a night there while visiting friends in New Plymouth. Fantastic location,beds are really really comfy,totally recommend it. The bar has an awesome view and the staff is really friendly. Also really close to several convenience shops. Great stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bellatrix6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your nice comments, we are very happy you had such a nice time while staying with us. We do think our beds are very comfy indeed. Have a nice New year holiday and a even better 2014.
Best Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst climbing mt taranaki. Very comfortable well equipped room with sea view, friendly helpful staff and a very good restaurant (salt). Certainly cannot go far wrong . Perhaps not the cheapest but good value for money

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your climb on the wonderful Mt Taranaki!
We are very happy you enjoyed staying with us and dinning in Salt Restaurant. We believe we have a wonderful location and views, unmatched in New Plymouth city. Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were in New Plymouth for one night only and chose this hotel for its location. Across the road is the coastal walkway which is an easy walk along side the ocean towards the Port in one direction and as many km as you want to walk in the other. The Salt restaurant is sited with full ocean views and it is worth staying in-house to eat.
We were disappointed that the room we were allocated was not what was confirmed with our booking , and after questioning we were offered a small credit.
The claimed view of the ocean was angled across a car park and our window had a large steel beam diagonally across it. That aside, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
There is no in room safe.
There is no free wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the Puke Ariki Centre are possibly quieter and get the morning sun. Request a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShonaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Hello and firstly I wish to thank you for your appreicated feedback.
I am truely sorry that you were not happy with the room you were assigned for your stay with us.
Due to long stay guests extending their stay we had no option to assign that room for you being room 213. Yes this room does have a beam accross the window, meaning there was no balcony.
I am once again sorry we could not offer you a balcony as wished and if you ever return to New Plymouth please contact myself, Mark or alturnatively Heather as we would love the opportunity to do something special for you next time.
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the Salt Restaurant.
Have a happy and safe Christmas and new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were recently in New Plmouth to attend a wedding and the hotel was recommeded to us by the bride and groom. They arranged for a welcome pack to be put in the room and a card saying they hoped we enjoyed our stay as much as they had when they got engaged there. We certainly did. It is some time since we have been to New Plymouth and my things have changed. To find a hotel of this calibre was such a surprise and the city itself had quite a buzz. The staff were helpful and friendly on arrival and check in was a breeze. We were quite close to the restaurant so were concerned about the noise but we didn't hear a thing. We were contacted by the hotel a couple of days prior to our arrival to check what type of pillow we preferred and if we needed extra blankets, wall safe etc. The room was large and pleasant and the chairs were quite comfortable such a change to what is provided by some hotels. We slept well during our stay and didn't need the extra blanket I requested.
We had coffee in the restaurant and breakfast on our last morning, the service was excellent and the staff we bright and chatty. The selection was typical hotel breakfast fare and with a typical in house price, but it was adequate and fresh.
The location is excellent right in the middle of the CBD with galleries and museums right on the doorstep and a lovely waterfront walk just across the road. There is a good shopping centre next door and plenty of restaurant and coffee shops. It is also a good base for exploring Taranaki.
We will certainly stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room facing onto Egmont St at the front of the hotel, other guests at the back of the hotel...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coopsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is comments like these that make's everyones hard work really worth it and rewarding.
We would love to host you again if you ever return to New Plymouth, best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Recently stayed in one of their family suites which was beautifully decorated and really well equipped with cooking and laundry facilities. The central location is brilliant as opposite the coastal walkway overlooking the Wind Wand and next door to Puke Ariki. We found the staff really helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed a complimentary pass to the local aquatic centre which was fabulous for the kids. Restaurant was really good and bar has a lovely balcony overlooking the water. Parking was free and easy to get to.

Room Tip: If staying with kids choose a suite - really spacious with excellent facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwimum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Its always nice to hear guests say they wish they stayed longer.
Have a safe and happy christmas from us here at The Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Having recently stayed, for business, at the Waterfront Hotel I will reiterate the many complimentary postings regarding this fine property. We were fortunate to have a corner penthouse room complete with cooking and laundry facilities. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Puke Ariki Center, the library and Museum complex, and importantly the beach/waterfront walkway. The latter provides a walking, skating, running, or biking experience for the locals and visitors. We found the staff particularly helpful. When a taxi driver didn't show for a shuttle to a local school, the manager quickly ferried one of us to the locale. The hotel restaurant sports a newly trained and resourceful chef. I'm reminded that whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, the eating experience is continental and quality all the way through! Thank you Waterfront staff for all your kindnesses to us.

Room Tip: Facing the water, weather cooperating, is worth the expense.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you john for your kind words. We are very pleased you had a enjoyable stay the in amazing penthouse suite, complemented by the food and service in Salt Restaurant. It is our pleasure to be your hosts. Best wishes from the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing