We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in New Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in New Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here while he was in town for work and I'm glad we did. Everyone at the front desk was very nice and willing to answer all of the questions we had, the rooms were clean and spacious, it has a nice restaurant attached to it, and it's in a great location.

The hotel is located right across the street from the Coastal Walkway, it's a few blocks away from the shopping mall and other outdoor shops, and it's right next door to the Puke Ariki Museum. If you have a car there is a small amount of parking by the hotel if you need it. Everything in New Plymouth is either within walking distance of the hotel or it's a short drive away. We loved our stay the first time and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your fab comments. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. We would love to host you again in the future! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    79
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
104
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My partner and I stayed a night here while in New Plymouth. After a long stretch of camping we decided to spend one night in luxury. We searched for hotel deals and are very happy we decided to stay here over any of the other hotels. Great location. The hotel was modern and tastefully decorated and furnished. I was surprised by how large our hotel room was! The room had both air conditioning and a fan so you could choose, which was great as I hate air conditioning. Even better there was a ranch slider which opened out onto the deck so you could have a natural breeze. Also, the curtains were amazing and blocked out all light. We were planning on getting up early but actually ended up sleeping in as it was still pitch black in our room.

The downsides were that internet was quite expensive and the deck was too small to fit a chair so you couldn't sit out on it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay. Very happy you had such a nice time and found our services and quality first class. The internet ultra fast fibre and is $5.00 for 100 mb of Data or $10.00 for unlimited data per day. This is a good price compared with other properties in town.
Thanks agaibn for your feedback, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have now made this my regular when in New Plymouth for work. A brilliant location, right opposite the coastal walkway. Good sized rooms, with plenty of space to work or just sit and rest. The fact that it also has an excellent restaurant is a real bonus. The only downside? Don't try the haggis with breakfast, it tastes almost entirely nothing like haggis!!

Room Tip: We seem to get a corporate discount on the disabled rooms - some may not like them, but not having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your feed back. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.
Very excited to hear you enjoy staying with us. We no longer have the haggis on the menu so no need to worry about that, the new menu is Fab!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We spent a night there while visiting friends in New Plymouth. Fantastic location,beds are really really comfy,totally recommend it. The bar has an awesome view and the staff is really friendly. Also really close to several convenience shops. Great stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bellatrix6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your nice comments, we are very happy you had such a nice time while staying with us. We do think our beds are very comfy indeed. Have a nice New year holiday and a even better 2014.
Best Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst climbing mt taranaki. Very comfortable well equipped room with sea view, friendly helpful staff and a very good restaurant (salt). Certainly cannot go far wrong . Perhaps not the cheapest but good value for money

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your climb on the wonderful Mt Taranaki!
We are very happy you enjoyed staying with us and dinning in Salt Restaurant. We believe we have a wonderful location and views, unmatched in New Plymouth city. Merry Christmas and a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were in New Plymouth for one night only and chose this hotel for its location. Across the road is the coastal walkway which is an easy walk along side the ocean towards the Port in one direction and as many km as you want to walk in the other. The Salt restaurant is sited with full ocean views and it is worth staying in-house to eat.
We were disappointed that the room we were allocated was not what was confirmed with our booking , and after questioning we were offered a small credit.
The claimed view of the ocean was angled across a car park and our window had a large steel beam diagonally across it. That aside, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
There is no in room safe.
There is no free wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the Puke Ariki Centre are possibly quieter and get the morning sun. Request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShonaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hello and firstly I wish to thank you for your appreicated feedback.
I am truely sorry that you were not happy with the room you were assigned for your stay with us.
Due to long stay guests extending their stay we had no option to assign that room for you being room 213. Yes this room does have a beam accross the window, meaning there was no balcony.
I am once again sorry we could not offer you a balcony as wished and if you ever return to New Plymouth please contact myself, Mark or alturnatively Heather as we would love the opportunity to do something special for you next time.
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the Salt Restaurant.
Have a happy and safe Christmas and new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were recently in New Plmouth to attend a wedding and the hotel was recommeded to us by the bride and groom. They arranged for a welcome pack to be put in the room and a card saying they hoped we enjoyed our stay as much as they had when they got engaged there. We certainly did. It is some time since we have been to New Plymouth and my things have changed. To find a hotel of this calibre was such a surprise and the city itself had quite a buzz. The staff were helpful and friendly on arrival and check in was a breeze. We were quite close to the restaurant so were concerned about the noise but we didn't hear a thing. We were contacted by the hotel a couple of days prior to our arrival to check what type of pillow we preferred and if we needed extra blankets, wall safe etc. The room was large and pleasant and the chairs were quite comfortable such a change to what is provided by some hotels. We slept well during our stay and didn't need the extra blanket I requested.
We had coffee in the restaurant and breakfast on our last morning, the service was excellent and the staff we bright and chatty. The selection was typical hotel breakfast fare and with a typical in house price, but it was adequate and fresh.
The location is excellent right in the middle of the CBD with galleries and museums right on the doorstep and a lovely waterfront walk just across the road. There is a good shopping centre next door and plenty of restaurant and coffee shops. It is also a good base for exploring Taranaki.
We will certainly stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room facing onto Egmont St at the front of the hotel, other guests at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is comments like these that make's everyones hard work really worth it and rewarding.
We would love to host you again if you ever return to New Plymouth, best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing