We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at "Ugly Duck"”
Review of Ugly Duck Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Ugly Duck Restaurant and Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, European, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dinner at "Ugly Duck"”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed on campsite near the ugly duck and choose the place from the walking distance. The interior is ordinary like country site and you feel like near your home in pub. The waiter very friendly and took the time with us. We sit on the restaurant side where the menu are spoken to you (quite small) means also easy choice.... After all we got a very delicious meal and a good wine for reasonable money. If you like to enjoy home style cooking go there and try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My meal did not impress me. It was expensive for a pub venue, and I did not receive food as stated in the menu. (The vegetables were definitely not nice, or as described).
I mentioned this when paying at the bar, and my request to tell the chef was not well received.
The room is very ordinary for the price of the food, and you have to make your way through all the people standing at the bar in order to get to the toilets.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs10072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had the most wonderful lunch ,, corn fritter with mushrooms, brie, and onion marmalade with tomatoes and sour cream on the side,,,,,,,,,,great price too ,, definitely be going back to the Ugly Duck in Fitzroy,, anyone else looking for it ,, its the side of the pub before you go on the bridge from Fitzroy! Took us a while to find it lol ,, well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food at Ugly Duck”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

After a high recommendation from a friend, my wife & I tried Ugly Duck for dinner while in New Plymouth. The steak was delicious, and my wife's chicken dish was also delicious.

Helpful?
Thank BR4DY_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having drinks and a catch up with old friends. Booked here for dinner and was not disappointed. Lovely waitress to go with the great food. She has some memory for what meals where for what guest. You make really good coffee too, no bitter taste even without sugar. Made the end of the meal. Will be back here for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZAilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Duck Restaurant and Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing