We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joe's Garage
Ranked #12 of 179 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Joe's in New Plymouth is located on the corner of Devon Street East and Gover Street. All of Joe's favourites are on the menu, plus we offer a selection of thin-based, custom-made pizzas, cooked to perfection in a purpose built pizza oven and we are fully licensed Joe's is also available for private functions. The team look forward to hosting you and invite you to make Joe's Garage part of your daily "Coffee Rescue" ritual.
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Food quite good, not fast though. Very good coffee, free wi fi. Nice ambience, seating good. Good addition to the town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

A very busy Sunday morning in Joe's and the staff were a treat to watch. Tables were turning over quickly and food being produced at a great rate. Our breakfast rolls arrived after about 20 minutes, preceded by drinks. Good flavours, more than enough bacon and egg in my roll and good aioli/sauce mix in the little tub.
Staff were ultra friendly and efficient, correcting a small mixup in the drinks with a minimum of fuss and an apology. The seating was comfortable - the high stools had backs and there was a good choice of different seating areas.
The only reservation I have is with the pricing. $11.80 for a hot filled roll is out there really.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Looking for a place to have breakfast and found Joe's Garage. Food was great but the staff are exceptional. Always a cheery welcome and great service. Open early so ideal for breakfast

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peteri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The service by Anna R was useless. We ordered drinks and never got them. I order a tea for 1 at the end of the night. She forgot the milk and the teapot had a little pouch for tea leaves. Unfortunately, it didn't touch the water so the tea was just hot water.

As for the meal a fish burger for $19.00 was too $$ considering it was just 1 piece of lettuce a tomato slice and a thin fish fillet with over cooked dried out hand cut chips.

Will not be going there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn G, Owner at Joe's Garage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
It was disappointing to hear that you did not recieve the quality of food and beverage along with the service that Joes Garage is renouned for.
We consistently try to operate to a high standard however clearly in your case this did not happen.
Pease contact me via the Joes Garage website so that I can help put this experience right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Didn't really live up to expectations...but the food was tasty and generous if a little bit overpriced for what we got. The service was helpful and efficient. I would go there again but not expect too much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzienz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Garage also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Joe's Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing