We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kathakali

Kathakali
Ranked #6 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Great to see another good Indian restaurant in New Plymouth. Service fantastic and offers South Indian cuisine as an alternative to what on offer from other Indian restaurants in NP.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank angusgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    82
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I took our 2 young kids to Kathakali for a meal and it was a hit all round. Our first time trying south indian cuisine and we loved it. Great service and they explained all the dishes well to us. Very reasonably priced - we will definitely be back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Kerala touch to the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The food we ordered was reasonably good & really hot. The best part was that it had a real Kerala taste to it which we enjoyed very much

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CycloneWellywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our first visit last night and the banquet didn't disappoint. Persuaded my husband to try the lentil doughnuts and masala dosa both of which were really good. Love the fresh, almost tropical flavours of the South Indian cuisine. The staff were attentive but not over the top - thank you for delightful evening!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 79SarahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is Taranaki's only South-Indian restaurant. Authentic Kerala cuisine. A treat every time we go. I'm not normally very inquisitive in my curry choices, but have been playing eeny, meeny, miny, mo with the menu options and never been disappointed. The service is always very attentive, friendly and smiley. Enjoy =).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swisskiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathakali also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Kathakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing