We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is fantastic, don't let the interior fool you”
Review of The Garlic Press - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Garlic Press
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is fantastic, don't let the interior fool you”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have been here a few times and each time the food and the service were impeccable. You need to get past the atmosphere, and the menu looking more like the takeaway menu than a sit down meal place, because the food cannot be faulted. The staff are knowledgable and friendly without giving you the impression they want to join in to your group. The service time is also good. You will miss out if you don't dine here while you are in New Plymouth

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanInnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Rather a strange barn of a place. But great food at reasonable prices!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The building is close to the centre of New Plymouth and looks as if it might have been a carpet shop or something. OK, they painted it out and it is fine but it is not exactly cosy.
But the service is friendly and efficient and they obviously have a chef who knows exactly what he's doing and has some real talent.
So excellent food at reasonable prices. Catch it before a much posher place poaches the chef and charges twice as much for the wonderful food he cooks!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small portions, OVERPRICED, horrible service.”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Went here for my anniversary dinner. The waitress hadnt been taught how to cork a bottle of wine, so I did for her. The starter we ordered was $12 and came out as a small loaf of bread with some butter. The appetizer was a 1 prawn, 1 scallop and 1 small fish cake for $20+. We asked the chef if we could have a few extra scollops, and we'd pay for them. He said no. My main (blue cod on top a potato cake) was so salty I had to send it back. I've never sent food back. The place seemed very overrated. Won't ever go back:(

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Alex123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Someone in the kitchen at Garlic Press really knows how to cook! Highly recommended for excellent food and a buzzing atmosphere. Ask for a table near the front for speople watching on Devon Street. It packs out when there is something on at the TSB Showplace so reservations might be a good idea.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmJNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have eaten here a few times now and find the food fabulous. Would love to see a few different things on the menu or a special occasionally, but overall great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flametree16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garlic Press also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing