We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Family Outing”
Review of Pouakai Zoo

Pouakai Zoo
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Family Outing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We took our kids and they loved feeding the birds and animals, and the lions were a great hit - it's not a huge zoo but there are enough different animals to appeal to most kids.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rielly19RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    10
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lions, Tigers and.......ducklings.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Typical Taranaki weather they said on the day we visited. Lashing it down. But the welcome we got was as warm as...(I'm picking up some Kiwi now).
New owner from February. Chinese. Lovely.
But first can we get over the whole "animals in cages" thing? Yes, it would be better if they were all in the wild, so if you don't like zoos, don't go.
This TripAdvisor app is awful though? I've had to put my final thoughts here!!!!!
The lion is called Aslan, not as its printed below. I can't change it....grrrrrr.
Worth going? Totally. Its not big - we spent 90 minutes there, including handling lizards and ducklings which was a highlight! We loved it, hope you do if you visit.
This zoo feels homemade and in my view is charming. Asian the lion and his two wivesand the white tigers are the stars of course - we got there for feeding at 1:30 - but tthere's plenty more to see. Birds, monkeys, small gorilla, meerkats, emu, ostrich, llama and petting zoo types, donkeys, ducks, chickens, rabbits, doves.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank G4llovidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little zoo!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Definitely worth a visit if you don't mind the drive out. Lots of cute and exciting animals to look at and great for an outdoor activity with families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank themadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pouakai Zoo”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pretty amazing for a free attraction!! Great with kids, and a walk through the park afterwards is a great day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elpilbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth the drive”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great fun for all ages. Animals well cared for and good variety. Staff knowledgeable and friendly. Feeding time for the big cats was a highlight.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TessC0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pouakai Zoo also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Pouakai Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing