We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little indian resturant”

Indian Curry Corner
Ranked #91 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little indian resturant”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were rather worried when we ate at the Curry Corner on a recent Friday night as we were the only group there.
We needn't have worried the food was delicious and absurdly cheap, we all had the $10 mains which were a perfect size.
Their cheese nan was one of the best we have tasted.
We will definitely be going back next time we are in New Plymouth

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeNZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, not so great service”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The food here is good, standard (for NZ) fare. The Chicken Tikka Masala is nothing like Chicken Tikka Masala but it was tasty nonetheless. The onion bhaji are a highlight as they are not the normal onion rings that most kiwi curry houses serve but proper bhajis.
What lets this place down is both decor/ambience and service.
The decor shows what can be achieved when you put in no effort whatsoever. Don't go looking for atmosphere.
On every occasion we have been there has been just one young girl trying to deal with takeaway orders, eat-in orders, the till, waitressing, the lot. No real warmth or customer service, but maybe because she was so overworked?
The owners really need to sort this out. We tend to just go for takeaway now and despite my reservations I would recommend the food to others.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slim8589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Food”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Good food plus good service for a good curry meal. good location with parking a good price all in all good

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some happy, some not”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

A small restaurant or about 20 tables with a busy takeaway service at the counter. Suggest sitting towards the back for the restaurant feel unless you want to feel like you are in a cafe. My family of four order different curries and were either very impressed with the Chickien Tikka Massala and also the Butter Chicken. I ordered a mashed potatoe and spiced cheese dumpling meal cant remember the name which was very bland and hot rather than spicy. My eldest son ordered a Chicken Korma which he found quite bland. The starters of Onion Bhaji and Veg Samosa were very generous and very tasty.The decor is nice and the service was excellent, would we go there again? Maybe!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“NOT JUST A TAKEAWAY”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Walked past The Curry Corner during the day and knew immediately from looking at the menu in the window, this would be our restaurant of choice for the evening.

The restaurant itself was quiet with only two other diners; the takeaway was busy.

The staff very friendly and helpful. The menu consisted of all the usual Indian dishes. Our food was exceptional, fresh and the spices beautifully balanced.

BYO too at only $5 - now that's rare these days!

Don't be mislead by the brochure in your Motel room, despite only mentioning takeaway, this restaurant is very much open for eat in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Curry Corner also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Indian Curry Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing