We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King and Queen Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We spent the night here off the cuff on our way thru and was impressed by the all over look and feel of the place. The room was spacious and well equipped especially the seperate shower and toilet. Great location very friendly and helpful staff, super comfy bed and sky tv to relax the evening away. Only negative thing I can say is the stay was only one night.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Sam H,

Thank you for leaving such great feedback about your stay at our hotel.

The beds are definitely favourites with most of our guests. We also had instances where some of them slept right through their alarms as they were too comfortable.

We are pleased you enjoyed our great selection of 50+ SKY TV Channels to keep you entertained at night.

The separate toilet to the rest of the bathroom was a key feature in the design of the room and we are happy it is enjoyed by many.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at Kings and Queens Hotel Suites for two nights over the weekend in early November.
A very stylish hotel.
The staff very helpful and I forgive them for forgetting my breakfast. I think there may have been a muddle with room numbers. Unfortunately I had to miss out rather than wait since we had an excursion booked that started at 9.00am.
The rooms are very clean, stylish and restful.
If we had stayed one more night we may have been able to use the guests' bicycles which would have been a treat on the coastal walkway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear SorrelliAuckland,

Thank you for taking your time to write us about your experience at our new hotel.

Yes, you are correct. There was a misunderstanding with the room numbers. Our apologies for this inconvenience. After you mentioned it to the receptionist your breakfast bag was located in front of another room. Amazing how a mix up can happen with only having 17 suites. And once again, we do apologize.

On a lighter note; the bikes are definitely a nice addition to the hotel and get used a lot of times to explore the Coastal Walkway.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will have a bike helmet ready for you.

Best regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband , son and myself stayed in the King Henry 11 suite in October for four nights. The hotel is run by an outstanding staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them . The facilities in the suite were excellent . Beautiful bathrooms and comfortable beds. Very clean throughout and we had the added bonus of a washing machine and drier in this suite. The kitchen had all the appliances we needed and the fridge was well stocked. We used the diner across the road for breakfast and found that to be friendly and the food was good too. We will most definitely be staying here again on our next visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Lizan33,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We definitely agree with you that the King Henry Suites are ideal for families as they seem like a home away from home. The facilities such as the washing machine and dryer are nice features when staying longer than just one night.

We will also pass on the nice feedback to our breakfast restaurant; the Cafe Govett Brewster. Their french toast is amazing and it is handy to charge the meal back to the room.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again some time in the near future.

Best regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Over the years I've stayed in many, many properties in New Plymouth. King and Queen Hotel Suites is the newest and easily the most glamorous, stylish, chic hotel not just in New Plymouth but probably in all New Zealand. It is elegant but not with the minimal elegance so popular in hotels these days - it's got quirky accents, like the chairs sourced in Morocco, and it's got wonderful comfortable touches like the white blanket bed spreads.

The bathroom amenities - all by L'Occitane - and the amazing teas on offer, as well the best locally roasted coffee - are astonishingly good.

The manager, Daniel, has to be the most professional, genial, welcoming host I've ever dealt with in New Zealand. He's brilliant.

My New Plymouth accommodation list goes:
Best Suite Hotel: King and Queen Hotel Suite
Best Motel: The Dawson
Best B & B: Airlie House

Depending upon what you're looking for, accommodation-wise, you'll find it in Taranaki.

Room Tip: I've stayed in a couple of rooms here, and both have been clean, quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Mr Bridges

Wow what a magnificent review - we are blown away by your kind words.

We are very pleased to be rated your number 1 hotel in New Plymouth!

Thank you from the team and I at the King & Queen.

Best regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had no real idea about what to expect from this hotel after booking online without really knowing what it would be like. We we were both pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had a friendly welcome and being escorted to the room is a great touch - thanks. It was also lovely to receive a personal note, also appreciated. The rooms are great, well sized and well equipped. The view from the balcony was great, loved watching the ocean with over a quiet drink. The fully stocked kitchenette was a great surprise, nice to be able to cook a simply meal on a long trip!
I hope to return soon! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Ryan

We are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations of our hotel.

Our Premium suites are located perfectly to enjoy that late afternoon drink and get a glimpse of the sunset when the Taranaki weather allows.

It's also great to hear that you enjoyed having the fully stocked kitchenette in your room that allows guests to easily cook during their travels. Sometimes it's nice to just have a fried egg on toast for breakfast.

We hope you will be back soon and are looking forward to look after you in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is brand new and I picked up a coupon deal on Grabone to try it out. I was not disappointed. I have stayed in all the top hotels in New Plymouth and this one is on a par with the Nice Hotel. It's absolutely beautiful. The owners travelled to Morocco to buy furniture and fittings and you can tell. High quality, high design. Very, very cool decor and fittings.
We took our son so stayed in the King Henry II suite - two bedrooms, with two bathrooms and kitchen. Only $210 with our coupon! Balcony and sea views.
Our son had a King size bed to himself.
There is Sky TV in every room.
The beds are really comfortable and the windows double glazed for quietness and warmth.
The hotel has FREE WI-FI which is a bonus.
There is no restaurant on site but the kitchen in our suite was well equipped with cereals for breakfast and the restaurant across the road delivers. We also stopped by the restaurant next door (Snug Bar) and asked them if they would deliver us some food - and they did! Very friendly in New Plymouth.
The hotel is in town, down one end, across from the walkway along the ocean.
On the day of checkout we had a small drama where the taxi did not come to take us to the airport - even after three phone calls!~ Our flight was at 7.45am and it was now 7.15. We were slightly panicked as the airport is ten mins drive away, but the hotel receptionist, Anka, threw us her car keys and told us to take her car and her boyfriend would pick it up later. She did not know us at all, but said, "You seem like nice people". We raced to the airport (Hope we didn't get her a speed camera ticket!) and made it as the plane was boarding.
We left her a gift of $100 in the car and left the keys with airline staff. Anka's boyfriend biked to the airport to collect her car an hour later. Over and beyond!! AMAZING.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJLuvsHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi JJ

Wow what an incredible review, thanks for sharing! Anka is one of our stars and certainly provided service that is above and beyond. We are very pleased that you made it to the airport on time and had such a great story to tell at the end.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another memorable King & Queen experience.

Best regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spontaneously we decided to stay at the King & Queen as part of our date night. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We loved the personal note & chocolate awaiting our arrival - very nice touch. It's the best room we have ever stayed in. From the room layout to the high quality furnishings and as many other people are also saying, it was the little things that had been thought of & supplied that really blew us away. A really luxurious stay, we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Tania

Thank you for your kind words.

We are happy to hear that you had a great experience staying with us for your date night. It's a great way to spoil yourself and have a well deserved break.

The team enjoys getting to know our guests and especially providing them with a warm welcome to the hotel. We pride ourselves in making sure that everyone is well looked after.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#9 of 30 in New Plymouth
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King and Queen Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King and Queen Hotel Suites

Address: Corner of King and Queen Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £92 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — King and Queen Hotel Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Plymouth's leading luxury boutique hotel. Located in the CBD and cultural and arts hub of New Plymouth, close to the best restaurants and bars. Exquisite European and Moroccan furnishings, sea views, private balconies, unique local artwork, secure car parking, complimentary internet and kitchenettes help to create your ultimate getaway whether that be for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your King and Queen Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing