We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King and Queen Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent staff”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I booked a stay at King & Queen Hotel Suites through Booking.com just going by the description of the property. I wasn't sure of what to expect till I came to check-in. It's a newly refurbished property with nicely decorated and well appointed suites.

The best aspect of the stay were the staff at the hotel, all of whom were friendly, courteous and helpful to a fault.

Keep it up guys....... I hope to come back and stay with you again during my next trip down under.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddiki89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Siddiki89,

Thank you for your kind words about our property.

Myself and all the staff enjoy getting to know our guests and aim to make everyone feel welcome and taken care of.

As we are a small property and only 7 months old we all enjoy focusing on delivering great customer service and glad to hear that we succeeded in your eyes.

We hope you will be able to come back and certainly look forward to having you stay with us again down under.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
176
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had reason to stay in town and chose the King and Queen Suites for the night. The front of desk staff were extremely polite and helpful and the entire stay was a pleasure. We were impressed with the size of the room (business suite) and how well appointed everything was with superb decor and extremely comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Lynette A,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your getaway so close to your own home.

Our hotel has been a popular choice for locals using it for special occasions and a chance to 'escape from the daily routine'.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beds and the Maroccan decor of the room. The owners had a wonderful time picking out the bits and pieces to make the suites unique.

Hope to see you again on your next 'night out in town'.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived a bit late and drove around looking for a hotel when we found this one. The receptionist on duty was very helpfull. The hotel is quite new and the rooms are large and very good. The y have a kitchen with a induction-hub and a microwave. Separate toilet and bathroom. Own balkony. In the front you have a nice seaview.
Parking and WiFee is free. The WF is good and fast. The rooms have a Sony for connecting the Ipad or iphone, great!
Big flat TV!
Rooms cannot be better!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank changlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Changlek,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the large suite and made use of the kitchenette. Sometimes it is nice to cook up a quick meal without having to leave the room.

The separate toilet and bathroom is definitely a favourite with many of our guests who also enjoy the complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I came here for a weekend away and that is just what Kings and Queens Hotel is. The moment you step into your suite you are lost in the peaceful calm surroundings, the gorgeous decor and the extras that make your stay personal. Staff are attentive and nothing is a problem.
Attention to design and build of this new facility has made a huge difference. Wonderful asset for New Plymouth!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 367DarrellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear 367DarellB,

We are so happy to hear that you think of our hotel as a retreat.

Many locals use the hotel as a 'night away' and to celebrate special occasions. We were also a quite popular Christmas present for many.

As the hotel is newly built, the owners were able to implement a lot of modern and innovative features that make a hotel room special; i.e. the double glazed windows and the kitchenettes.

We hope to see you again when you come back to our 'home away from home'.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November and found the King & King suites to be the ideal place to enjoy a weekend in New Plymouth. Stand outs were the gorgeous and gracious young lady at reception, the divine bed, super comfy pillows and really good quality coffee and teas. The hotel is stylish, we'll appointed and in a convenient location with parking.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a view next time we might try the romantic looking suite with the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion4john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Marion4john,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel.

Our staff is very enthusiastic about providing great service and I will definitely pass on your lovely words to our receptionist Anka.

We are glad you enjoyed the coffee that is provided in all the rooms. It's very convenient to have the Ozone Coffee Roasters right adjacent to the hotel delivering us with freshly roasted batches.

It will be wonderful to welcome you back sometime in the near future. Maybe as a special treat for a relaxing night in our Anniversary Suite. The deep free standing bathtub is definitely a popular feature.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We spent the night here off the cuff on our way thru and was impressed by the all over look and feel of the place. The room was spacious and well equipped especially the seperate shower and toilet. Great location very friendly and helpful staff, super comfy bed and sky tv to relax the evening away. Only negative thing I can say is the stay was only one night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Sam H,

Thank you for leaving such great feedback about your stay at our hotel.

The beds are definitely favourites with most of our guests. We also had instances where some of them slept right through their alarms as they were too comfortable.

We are pleased you enjoyed our great selection of 50+ SKY TV Channels to keep you entertained at night.

The separate toilet to the rest of the bathroom was a key feature in the design of the room and we are happy it is enjoyed by many.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at Kings and Queens Hotel Suites for two nights over the weekend in early November.
A very stylish hotel.
The staff very helpful and I forgive them for forgetting my breakfast. I think there may have been a muddle with room numbers. Unfortunately I had to miss out rather than wait since we had an excursion booked that started at 9.00am.
The rooms are very clean, stylish and restful.
If we had stayed one more night we may have been able to use the guests' bicycles which would have been a treat on the coastal walkway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear SorrelliAuckland,

Thank you for taking your time to write us about your experience at our new hotel.

Yes, you are correct. There was a misunderstanding with the room numbers. Our apologies for this inconvenience. After you mentioned it to the receptionist your breakfast bag was located in front of another room. Amazing how a mix up can happen with only having 17 suites. And once again, we do apologize.

On a lighter note; the bikes are definitely a nice addition to the hotel and get used a lot of times to explore the Coastal Walkway.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will have a bike helmet ready for you.

Best regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King and Queen Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King and Queen Hotel Suites

Property: King and Queen Hotel Suites
Address: Corner of King and Queen Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — King and Queen Hotel Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Plymouth's newest luxury boutique hotel. Located in the CBD and cultural and arts hub of New Plymouth, close to the best restaurants and bars. Exquisite European and Moroccan furnishings, sea views, private balconies, unique local artwork, secure car parking, complimentary internet and kitchenettes help to create your ultimate getaway whether that be for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King and Queen Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing