We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King and Queen Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed in one of the Queen Victoria suites for 4 weeks during Jan & Feb 2014 whilst relocating to New Plymouth from the UK. This hotel is absolutely fantastic in every way! My suite was spacious with a large bedroom, bathroom with laundry, small yet perfectly designed fully equipped kitchen, large lounge with huge tv and fireplace, and a balcony. The decor is smart yet funky with all high quality mod cons. The reception staff (Daniel, Anka, Craig, Byron) were always happy, friendly, thoughtful and helpful which made a huge difference to my 4 week stay. The cleaning staff did a great job and my room was always cleaned to an excellent standard. The location is 100% central and only a few minutes walk to the beautiful coastal walkway. There are two excellent cafe's (literally) next door as well as some other great bars, cafe's & restaurants with a few minutes walk. There are also a couple of complimentary mountain bikes (with helmets) for guest use which are a great way to see the town and various beautiful walkways :-) If you're looking to stay in a hotel in New Plymouth then I can't recommend this highly enough - a lot of NZ hotels have much to learn from this fab new hotel! Thank you to all the fab staff at King & Queen!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes. A room with a balcony with sea views would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
180
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The ultimate in luxurious comfort in the heart of New Plymouth. Everything was perfect, comfy bed, lovely linen, great toiletries , quirky clipboard with menus, well stocked mini bar, great quality beverages, great location & beautifully clean.
This hotel sets a standard that I just struggle to find in other cities when travelling around N Z ! I only hope others see this as a great example of how to do it .
Staff were super helpful,nothing was to much trouble and the artwork in the lobby & corridors delightful to look at.
I would recommend this lovely hotel to all !

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyanneHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear DyanneHamilton,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you rate us so highly. The staff certainly strive to give excellent customer service and a comment like yours is great reassurance.

I am pleased to hear that you liked our amenities and the fully stocked Minibar.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.


Warm regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were given a night here as a gift from family & the rooms are superb. Very well done, top service and charging out to the awesome nearby restaurants & cafés is a great extra. Have brunch at Cafe Govett Brewster, you won't regret it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Andy G

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. Its awesome to hear that you enjoyed this gift from your family so much.

Being able to charge back to our rooms from the 6 different Cafes and Restaurants around New Plymouth is unique to King and Queen. Its great you were able to utilize this and that you enjoyed your bunch at Café Govett Brewster.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I had a weekend in New Plymouth. Staying at the King and Queen Hotel contributed to one perfect weekend. The staff were exceptional. We would go back at the drop of a hat. Breakfast across the street was great. Coffee was simply perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi kapai2013

We are so glad to hear that your stay here at King and Queen helped make you and your husbands weekend perfect. Our staff strive to provide excellent customer service so its great that you thought they were exceptional.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I travelled from Sydney to New Plymouth for a wedding. Stayed three nights in this great place. Bed was exremely comfortable and the room very spacious. Surrounded by great cafes and plenty of Restaurants. I would recommend this for anyone travelling here. I have never seen a hotel close at 9pm so be sure to check in in the day. But after all it is a sleepy town and you would be sure to be there by then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the side of the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Minnsy_10

Thank you for your feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay here - especially that you loved the bed! Our central location is also an advantage of our hotel and its great that you were able to enjoy the cafes and restaurants around the area.

We hope to see you here again at King and Queen in the future.

Kind regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We recently stayed for a few days and enjoyed every minute of it. The suite was beautifully appointed, very comfortable and clean. All the people involved were very helpful and friendly but the stand out was definitely Daniel. His attention and service was exceptional and he is a wonderful asset to the establishment. All in all, a lovely time in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Jan

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience.
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service so great to know that we are delivering.

All the best
Daniel and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at King&Queen over the Christmas - New Year period and were pleasantly surprised by this relatively new venue. Perfectly located close to town and with views to the ocean we would recommend this hotel without question. The staff were great and the rooms were clean and functional. Parking and general access to the hotel are also great. Nearby are a number of great bars and restaurants - the highlight for us being Snug Lounge, located just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi ajc72

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us here at King and Queen. Our staff strive to deliver a high level of customer service so its great that you felt well looked after.

The central location of our hotel is a big advantage for us, so it is great that you got to utilize this and try out some local bars and restaurants, including the Snug Lounge.

We look forward to having you stay here again at King and Queen in the future.

Kind regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King and Queen Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King and Queen Hotel Suites

Property: King and Queen Hotel Suites
Address: Corner of King and Queen Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — King and Queen Hotel Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Plymouth's leading luxury boutique hotel. Located in the CBD and cultural and arts hub of New Plymouth, close to the best restaurants and bars. Exquisite European and Moroccan furnishings, sea views, private balconies, unique local artwork, secure car parking, complimentary internet and kitchenettes help to create your ultimate getaway whether that be for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King and Queen Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing