We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King and Queen Hotel Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked in at the last minute and found the apartment very comfortable. We visited the theatre which was a minute's walk away- as were some excellent pubs and restaurants. The receptionist was awesome and really helpful. The rooms were a bit special and we would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendomorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Rendomorph

Thank you for your review. The team and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
180
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel truly rates as one of the best I have ever stayed - the standard and style of which I wish could be replicated in every city I travel to. Unfortunately New Plymouth is probably not on the normal travel highway of most visitors to NZ - yet this hotel itself would make me detour through New Plymouth just to enjoy such an experience again. Thank you again tripadvisor for directing me to this hotel - it certainly deserves its top ranking. On driving up to "have a look" Daniel the Manager came out to greet us - then toured us through this boutique hotel showing us the different room options available. His professional, urbane manner was a delight and we appreciated the opportunity to make our room choice based on viewing the different rooms. We decided on the Queen Victoria Suite of the many options. Luxurious fittings, a full kitchen, lounge, bathroom, laundry and attention to detail in every aspect of the fitting and furnishings. The sleep quality was fantastic - an exceptionally comfortable bed, absolute quiet and a wonderfully dark room creating a haven for uninterrupted sleep.
The owners of this hotel have gone out of their way to create a very sophisticated, cosmopolitan hotel and in every aspect they have succeeded.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Tina

Thank you for your review. We are honoured to be one of the best hotels you have every stayed in!
New Plymouth is a great destination for a holiday and it is growing in popularity.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for a short overnight business trip, and was impressed by the friendliness and attention to detail of Daniel and his team. I had stayed here previously, and without asking they put me in my preferred room, with a personalised welcome note and chocolate waiting for me. I was late to check in, and the concierge stayed behind beyond their normal hours to ensure everything was to my liking. The room is stylish, comfortable and quiet, and at a great central location. Cafe's, restaurants and pubs are all within an easy walk, as is the Coastal Walkway and Puke Ariki. Free unlimited Wifi is a fantastic service, which makes working away from the office a breeze. The staff made me feel like a returning friend, rather than another customer. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear NZGAM

Thank you for your kind words and for posting a review.
We like to treat all of our guests like family and have an excellent team of young professionals who love what they do.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was welcomed into the hotel by the lovely Anka and immediately felt at home. It is clear to see that Anka and her team have put an enormous amount of thought into every detail at this gorgeous boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larzwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Larz

Thank you for your review.
Anka is certainly a superstar here at the King & Queen. I am glad to hear that you were looked after so well.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here near the end of our 2 weeks in New Zealand. The staff is amazingly wonderful, only to be outdone by the excellent room, facilities and bedding. One of the best sleeps while in New Zealand. Great location, friendly and helpful staff/management. Well worth the price. Thanks for a lovely stay. The sunset at the wind wand and stroll along the costal walkway were so memorable. (the room design, beds, washroom are just perfect)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear David

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you loved the hotel and had such a good sleep. Our location is ideal for a stroll along the coastal walkway and we are glad you made the most of it.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday surprise and absolutely loved it - staff were lovely, friendly and helpful - really enjoyed our bit of luxury from the warm welcome at reception to the personal breakfast recommendation

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79SarahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sarah

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a wonderful stay on your birthday.
The hotel is a very popular place for locals!

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in December 2013 in a premium suite. From the moment we checked in with the manager on the front desk to the moment we checked out the staff made us feel very special, the cleaning staff always greeted us with a smile and friendly hello when we met them in the hallway. The manager was very passionate about his hotel and the city, we enjoyed his helpful advice and history of the fabulous furnishings in the hotel lobby. There was a lovely mini fruit cake on the bench on our arrival in the room. The room was spacious, had a great kitchenette, gorgeous bathroom with large walk in shower and L'occitane toiletries. There was no bath. The toilet was in a separate room which I like. The veranda looked out to the ocean and was very nice in the afternoon sun. The bed was very comfortable. The location is very central and there is a great cafe across the road that does excellent breakfast. The manager had us from the moment we walked in the door which was lovely because we were hard pressed to find great service anywhere else in New Plymouth. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherbear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at King and Queen Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Motherbear3

Thank you for your review. We have a very friendly team here at the King & Queen and I am so glad that you felt welcome. The L'occitane toiletries are beautiful and we are the only hotel in New Zealand to offer this exceptional product.

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King and Queen Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King and Queen Hotel Suites

Property: King and Queen Hotel Suites
Address: Corner of King and Queen Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — King and Queen Hotel Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Plymouth's leading luxury boutique hotel. Located in the CBD and cultural and arts hub of New Plymouth, close to the best restaurants and bars. Exquisite European and Moroccan furnishings, sea views, private balconies, unique local artwork, secure car parking, complimentary internet and kitchenettes help to create your ultimate getaway whether that be for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King and Queen Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing