We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, yum!”
Review of Funk Fish Grill

Funk Fish Grill
Ranked #52 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum, yum!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The food was absolutely delicious, the service outstanding. We were recommended the restaurant by the owners of Villa Heights B & B and they certainly steered us in the right direction. Would recommend the satay sticks for entree, followed by the fish baked with Parmesan & served on risotto. Can't fault it, only praise it!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish at it's best”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked and dined on a busy Friday night. Service was perfect, friendly and casual. Our fish meals were just amazing and large portions that we just couldn't get through as stuff ourselves with their bread started which had just the yummiest dips. Love the atmosphere, romantic. Thanks John I will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out standing food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have sent some guests to this restaurant from our bed and breakfast. They all come back saying how wonderful the food was ,so we decided to go for dinner. We were made very welcome and had delicious meal. This restaurant is highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Villaheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

From the time you walk in the door you are made more than welcome from John the owner. Such personal service and a great knowledge of both the food he provides and the wine to compliment it. It has been difficult to find a restaurant that offers the freshest fish that we all expect but this week I was truly impressed. I highly recommend John and his talented team, money well worth spending to taste the benefits.

Helpful?
Thank M00shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW PLYMOUTH, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The superb menu and wine list is updated regularly: service is excellent, and the presentation of the meal we had last week was outstanding! Absolutely gorgeous. We are so lucky to have this outstanding restaurant on our doorstep: take-out is awesome, but the dining-in experience is extraordinary.The décor` and bathroom facilities are top-class. We look forward to eating there on a regular basis and cannot recommend this restaurant enough. Thank you, John: and thanks also to your brilliant chef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROSTPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funk Fish Grill also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Funk Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing