We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"First Visit awesome looking forward to going back"”
Review of Cow Ree - CLOSED

Cow Ree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"First Visit awesome looking forward to going back"”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our first visit was to call in & have a cuppa before heading home, but we ended up having a light brunch as we had an early big breakie. The service was very good as well as the lambs fry dish which my husband had, the steak sandwiches was perfectly cook as I had asked, medium to rare.
We are looking forward to have an evening meal very shortly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our first visit to Cow Ree was for Brunch. The food was really fresh especially the fish we had and was well presented on the plate. The service was very friendly and efficient. We will definitely be back to try breakfast and dinner.

Carol and Brian

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went back for Dinner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After really enjoying the lunches we had here, we made sure we went back to try the dinner menu. To say that the experience exceeded expectations would still be an understatement!

Quiet and cosy, warm friendly and welcoming, and the melt in the mouth food is just divine!!
This is our new favourite place to dine, and the only catch is how much we enjoy the quiet homely feel, yet we can’t not tell everyone how great it is haha!

We will (and have been) recommend this place to everyone looking for all you could want from a dining experience.... Don’t miss out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensville, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than a cafe”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just had dinner here. Suberb entree, shows the staff are not afraid to offer something different.
Great main, all very well presented on plate with great service. Owners are very conscientious about their customers dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We dined here on a recent Saturday evening and the food was great!
Although the menu had quite a variety all four of us had the steak and each of us wanted it differently cooked (from very rare to medium/well-done).
We all got exactly what we had requested and it was excellent.
Dessert was also excellent.
The service was a bit rustic and unsophisticated but the friendlyness and keenness of the staff more than made up for this.
All-in-all a great meal and we highly recommend the restaurant. It's definitely worth the short drive from New Plymouth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cow Ree also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing