We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed here on my recent business trip to New Plymouth as this is the closest accommodation to where I was working. Compared to my last stay in New Plymouth (Copthorne hotel) this trip was a real pleasure.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean when we arrived and the daily service was impeccable. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Two pieces of advice:
1. the hotel is on a one-way street that is busy during the day; you might want to request a room further away from the road. We were furthest away upstairs and while you could hear an occasional vehicle going down the road neither of us found it obtrusive.
2. the smoke alarms are *very* sensitive--we set them off cooking a piece of bacon!!!

In terms of recommendation: I will be using this hotel for my next business trip to New Plymouth. All our staff stay here as a corporate choice, but I will stay because it is my choice.

Room Tip: Try to avoid being too close to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonChris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here with 2 young kids - you need to pay extra for kids.
No kids TV channel.
Couches are tiny, very hard & uncomfortable, especially as TV is mounted very high up the wall so anywhere you sat you got a sore neck.
Very noisy being so close to a main road (this may have just been the part of the building that we were in).
No curtains in the bedrooms (just venetian blinds) so a nightmare trying to get the kids to go to sleep since room was so light.
No extra blankets or anything that we could have hung over the window.
Probably wouldn't stay there again unfortunately and wouldn't recommend it as a family hotel.

However it was warm, clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the cooked breakfast was very good. Handy being so close to supermarkets too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a great central location to stay in New Plymouth. We were warmly greeted and Gary helped us pointing out areas on a map then showed us to our room. The room was very nicely decorated, with a very comfortable king (or super king?) bed, really nice bed linen and pillows.

The kitchen facilities were good and the bathroom had a nice big shower stall. The grounds were immaculately groomed. The only gripe was that our room was a bit on the dark side as there was only a front window and no other natural light. The location is superb with easy access to supermarkets, restaurants and shopping.

We really enjoyed our visit and will definitely book Abode the next time we are in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenWelington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

On arriving at Abode on Courtenay, the manager warmly greeted me by name. Although I arrived in the morning before check-in time, I was able to go to my room, because they weren't full at the time. I really appreciated this.

The room itself was tidy and tastefully decorated, but rather characterless. It was a bit dark too, possibly because it was on the ground floor. It had adequate kitchen equipment and a decent-sized TV. Plunger coffee sachets were provided too, which was a nice touch.

The location is very convenient, close to the centre of town, the coastal walkway and Pukekura Park. This convenience had its downside - Courtenay St is a busy road, so there was some traffic noise, and the motel itself is on quite a small cramped block, so the outlook from the rooms was pretty ordinary. There are some potted plants dotted around the carpark, and the little patch of grass has some things planted around the edges, but otherwise it looks a bit barren.

In summary, it was a reasonable place to stay for a quick visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Abode. We had the upstairs 2 bedroom unit which was very clean and tidy. The kitchenette had a microwave and 2 hot plates which was adequate for cooking for the family. Pak and Save and Countdown were literally across the street so that was very convenient. We walked to the coastal walkway and into the city centre which was only a few blocks away. Gary the host was friendly and helped us out with info on sights to see in New Plymouth. I was worried that traffic noise would be an issue but it wasn't. We stayed a Friday, Sat and Sunday. I booked direct and was very happy with our rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieSueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

As this was a business trip we were here longer than the normal 1 or 2 nights, we stayed four nights and found that the accommodation was 'five star'. The units are warm and clean and tidy and surprisingly there was very little traffic noise considering the location of the motel. Being in the centre of the CBD is also another bonus as access to the supermarkets, in fact, all amenities was literally 'just outside the door'. We would definitely make the Abode on Courtenay our first option again.

Room Tip: Connectiong rooms 7 and 8 were great, very little traffic and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I was first visited Abode last year as I was attending a competition in the rear carpark (which I found out on my arrival) so chose the best place. I was impressed during this visit, so when the competitions came up again I had no hesitations in booking again with Gary. I called on Sunday morning and made a booking and arrived early Sunday evening.
Gary has done alot of work with slowly upgrading the rooms, and making it modern. The rooms are comfortable and although its on the main road its a very quiet in the rooms. Especially if you just want to sleep. The location of the Abode also allows for many options in terms of Supermarkets and eating out options from Fast Food through to Restaurants.

The rooms are clean, and were serviced during my 2 night stay, comfortable pillows and warm rooms. I love the upgrade to a plasma tv love it.
Gary was very friendly from checkin offering the milk etc. A friendly good morning as he walked the carpark through to evening at night, Its a great place to stay and i will definately recommend and be back again.
What a nice place to stay a home away from home

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn

Address: 155 Courtenay Street | PO Box 8058, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand (Formerly Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing