We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”
Review of Seaspray House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray House
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We have stayed in hostels all over NZ and this is by far one of our favorites. Janine does a fantastic job maintaining a welcoming and spotless space. The hostel is in a beautiful, two-story house with hard-wood floors (you have to take your shoes off!) and tons of light throughout. Thanks to plenty of soundproofing doors, noise from common areas is kept to a minimum. The kitchen is especially inviting-- a rarity among hostels--and Janine is *constantly* through the kitchen, common areas, and bathrooms to ensure that they are spotless at all times. It's clear that she takes a lot of pride in the hostel, investing both money and time back into it. She also offers plenty of advice on things to do in the area (New Plymouth is great) and the location by the ocean-walkway is perfect. Our one gripe had to do with the bed and bedding: the mattress was extremely squishy and should be retired at this point (not at all uncommon in accommodations in NZ, I'm afraid), as should the sheets and duvets -- the stuff is just too worn. Other than that, a truly lovely place that tends to attract very nice guests. Jed, the resident cat, is adorable!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank katystava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Just came back from a weekend trip to New Plymouth. Stayed at Seaspray House. Booked the double bed room, which cost NZD80 for the two of us.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The whole place was spacious and clean. It felt "home-y".
The coastal walkway was located less than 5 minutes away. If you walked along the coastal walk, town center was about 15 minutes. The nearby diary served really good ice-cream on cone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cookeatdrinktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This hostel is lovely, very clean, spacious and well maintained. Our twin room was massive, each bed seperated by a wall to make almost 2 seperate rooms. The bathrooms were outstanding, best showers we have used in ages. Staff very helpful and information was provided about what to do in area, with great recommendations that we didn't even get from tourist info. Nice kitchen and living room, off street parking and very reasonable laundry facilities with free washing powder. Great location, 5-10 minutes walk from town and costal walkway right on your doorstep. A real friendly feel, was like staying with friends. Can't fault anything about this place and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carley99_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Absolutely beautiful! Extremely clean, incredible hosts (2 sisters). Right on the beach and coastal walk. Great kitchen facilities and open space for hanging out. Huge rooms and superb bathrooms. Stay here if you are visiting Mt. Taranaki. It is only a 15-20 minute drive to the hiking paths and a 5 minute walk into the city of New Plymouth. Definitely do the short hike to the top of the old volcano at the bottom of the coastal walk way.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank velureroholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dawson Motel
The Dawson Motel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariki Backpackers
Ariki Backpackers
#6 of 16 in New Plymouth
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray House

Address: 13 Weymouth Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Speciality Lodging in New Plymouth
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing