We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent house for a hostel”
Review of Seaspray House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house for a hostel”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Had a very good stay in Seaspray house, I arrived at 2.30 pm and having made my way round the back to leave my bag, I was welcomed by receptionist who was happy to check me in. First impression was good, large kitchen, lounge and liked the fact that you had to remove your shoes! Had a "private" corner in a 4 share which was really nice, big bathrooms, good shower. Everything was spotless, At the price, really can't ask for more!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anyesva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

An attractive Edwardian house in a quiet area of New Plymouth.Our room was spacious ,well furnished with a dressing room. It even had a wardrobe.The atmosphere in the hostel was friendly and we were made to feel at home.The lounge was comfortable with plenty of games etc. to keep us busy when the weather was poor.Having run a Guest House we can fully understand the 4pm check in.Owners do like some time to keep the accommodation in good order. Do not let this put you off staying here,it is a great hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a lovely hostel which feels like you've at home rather than backpacking. Lovely and clean. I was in the fourshare and the room is shaped like a horseshoe so you get lots of privacy. No beds, only bunks. The kitchen is large, clean, homely and well-equipped, lovely for cooking. They also have a bike you can hire for 5 dollars and cycle along the coastal pathway.
The only downsides are you can't check in before 4 and there's no dryer for the laundry. Other than that, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The house itself is lovely, and clean. However we were told not to come before 4 . The lady that checked us in seemed really unfriendly and not very welcoming at all. She did a quick show round and then we didn't see anybody again. We couldn't have felt less welcome and that we were intruding in their home.... even though it was the start of spring it was very cold and wet (early Oct) the rooms were very cold and when I ask if there was heaters I was told the heaters have been put away now. But not to worry your only in a small room you won't freeze. The extra duvet and pillows in the wardrobe smelt as if they hadn't been washed in a long time. The bed was on a metal frame some every time we moved it creaked and by the sounds of it so did the bed next door. So not a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Plymouth hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hostel itself is lovely. The kitchen is huge and the room was very pleasant. However, the initial greeting we received wasn't a friendly one. Check-in wasn't til 4pm so we wanted to store our luggage. There was a number on the door to text so naturally we did. When the owner arrived, she didn't attempt to hide her displeasure at us disturbing her chat with her friend. The tour she gave us when we checked in later was quite half-hearted and her tone was a little patronising when she was explaining things. We wouldn't stay here again based on that but reading the other reviews, everyone seems to have been happy with the service. Perhaps she just has an aversion to younger travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_M535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Seaspray is a beautiful quiet gem with spacious rooms, big bathrooms & good power showers, all spotless clean. I stayed there after 6 weeks of hostel experiences and rated it as one of the best. My room even had an armchair next to a wardrobe - both rather unusual for hostel rooms.

The managers were great, always helpful and friendly.

The kitchen was well equipped and free parking spots were offered behind the house. The only smaller downsides were no free Internet and that the laundry was quite expensive (no dryer). It seemed to be quite a walk from the city center without a car.

All in all I would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This backpackers was one of the best places that I have stayed in New Zealand. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and large and the house itself is beautifully decorated and feels like a real home. Kitchen facilities are excellent. It's in a really nice location only minutes from the coastal walk and from the town centre. I'd only ask for a bit of a nicer outside space to sit when the weather is fine!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_A037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariki Backpackers
Ariki Backpackers
#6 of 16 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
#2 of 16 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray House

Property: Seaspray House
Address: 13 Weymouth Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Speciality Lodging in New Plymouth
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing