We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The home is beautifully restored and meticulously clean. The hosts are wonderful. John even loaned us a gps to find our way to a recommended restaurant. Sunset views from up on the hills above New Plymouth are great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank60616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

After much web surfing for "just the right place" to spend a couple of nights together "away from it all" we are so pleased we chose Villa Heights!! We were so impressed by the high standards of everything right down to the smallest detail. What a hospitable couple, such friendly service, and also offering excellent suggestions on how to best spend our time in an unfamiliar area. The breakfast provided in their lovely dining room is like staying in a boutique hotel. We highly recommend Villa Heights, Top Marks!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaipara60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Villa Heights rests on a broad hillside a few kilometers outside of New Plymouth, Taranaki. Mount Egmont, a stunning dormant volcano, dominates the horizon, and from the lovely gardens one can look out over miles of rolling hills and sheep farms to the Tasman Sea.

The B&B is not large, but it is comfortable and quiet. Once a farmhouse, it was moved to its present location on the hill a few years ago, and extensively remodeled. John and Rosemary, our hosts, were wonderful and very helpful; their helpers, a couple of local girls, were cheery and very competent too. Even the dog -- Daisy -- was as friendly as can be, always eager to play with anyone who had the time.

We arrived here after a long day's drive through the North Island's stunning landscapes; Villa Heights is a grand place to stop and unwind for a day or two - or longer - before moving on. Breakfasts are huge and very tasty, and for a small fee, John will be happy to cook you up a wonderful dinner as well.

So enjoy the Villa! Soak in the peace of the countryside, climb the mountain, or explore New Plymouth and its vibrant art scene. This cozy hideaway is a lovely home port for your adventure.

Room Tip: Egmont and Taranaki rms look out on the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazathoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Great place to stay & we would recommend to anyone.
Wonderful cooked breakfast with great Irish hospitality.
Definitely will book again & a stunning view of Mt Teranaki from our bedroom window.

Room Tip: We were in the Egmont room it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Stayed at Villa Heights for one night with husband and two friends. We were warmly welcomed with afternoon tea. The first impression was WOW, we just loved the magnificent restored cottage and rose gardens.
The hosts Rosemary and John welcomed us like family and could not do do enough for us. The rooms were very large and so, so comfortable and very classy. We also had use of the guest's lounge and a warm fire on a chilly night.
We were reluctant to leave after a very delicious breakfast. We thoroughly recommend Villa Heights and would stay with them again.

It would be a good idea to get an up to date map of directions as we had difficulty finding the house. We are so glad we did.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Owners Rosemary and John Lucas have made this B&B into a must do on our list. Their lovely home, with great views of Taranaki is steeped in welcome. They helped us with arrangements and advice, as well as making all of time with them perfect. This quiet, comfortable, classic establishment was perfect, but it is the owners that made this the best B&B we have ever had to pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotourist98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed three nights with Rosemary and John in their beautiful old (but renovated) villa.
Arriving there was a very friendly greeting and we were introduced to the whole family at one (including the dog).
Our room was very clean and comfortable with a nice view over Mount Taranaki.
The breakfast provided was just amazing with cereals, fresh fruit and toast and during this we had some nice conversations with our hosts and got great tips of what to do in New Plymouth (the festival of lights is really recommendable).
We really hope to see the two again at some time - maybe even in Germany?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank double_M_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#3 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing