We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

After our long drive from whakapapa, we arrived late in villa heights. As we were totally exhausted from skiing, we didn't have any energy left to search for a restaurant. Rosemary immediately prepared some lovely toasts with cheese and we could taste her freshly baked chocolate cake. John gave us useful informarion about the environment. After a good night, I couldnt wait to open the curtains... Never had such a nice view out of our room: stunning! Make sure you don't miss this experience!!! Finale touch: delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

It was a pleasure to have you stay,thank you for the review. It was nice for you to see mt Taranaki in all it's glory. We would love to have you stay again. Rosemary and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at the very best bed and breakfast we have ever experienced. Rosemary and John's attention to detail is the tops. We awoke to a view of magnificent Mt Taranaki each morning and then had a lovely breakfast and a stroll around the pretty gardens. We can fully understand why this BandB has so many 5star reviews.

Room Tip: We had the Taranaki room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junegregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for the review, we appreciate your kind remarks.and pleased you enjoyed your stay and the weather was good for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

As a business visitor to New Plymouth I feel fortunate to have found this wonderful B&B. The gardens are divine and I occupied one of the two rooms at the front of the beautifully restored villa. The queen bed was new and superbly comfortable with luxurious bedding, warmed by an electric blanket. The heat pump had warmed the room for my late arrival and Rosemary was there with a hot drink of my choice and home made cake! I had the BEST sleep followed by a beautifully cooked breakfast. John and Rosemary are excellent hosts allowing space when needed or a good chat and a glass of wine also as required. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for your lovely review.. We enjoyed meeting you, and glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Just enjoyed a wonderful stay here. Stayed for two nights on a great deal and we were so impressed with the place. We stayed in the Egmont Room which was lovely with separate dressing room and en suite, comfortable bed and complimentary mini bar. Yummy breakfasts and welcoming cake with afternoon tea! John and Rosemary are really lovely and get the balance absolutely right between being around to chat and offer advice, but also knowing when to leave guests in peace. Would highly recommend and return when back in Taranaki.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. We will look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This B&B has loads of 5* reviews and as soon as you pull up on the drive, you see why. The building itself has been lovingly restored and sits in beautiful landscaped gardens, with the front of the B&B looking out over Mt. Egmont. We had a lovely room at the front of the B&B, with large bedroom, walk-through dressing room with fridge and well-fitted ensuite. The fridge is stocked with beer and soft drinks and Rosemary leaves a fresh home bake with your tea and coffee making facilities every day.
Rosemary and John, the hosts, were very friendly and welcoming and even lent us their Satnav to help us get around whilst we stayed in Taranaki (although the B&B is only 15-20 minutes from New Plymouth city centre). They helped us book activities and recommended nice restaurants for eating out.
Each day, breakfast was a nice mix of cereal, yoghurt, fruit and your choice of cooked food. It set us up nicely for touring Taranaki, which we found to be a bit of a hidden gem of New Zealand.
Villa Heights is well worth adding to your itinerary and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotConvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We are in the B&B business and so feel well qualified to know what makes a good B&B - Villa Heights is absolute tops. This was our second stay and it's truly a lovely place to stay. The house is set on a knoll out in the lush green Taranaki countryside – 15 minutes or so from town – surrounded by a rather large beautiful garden with spectacular views of Mt Taranaki. The home is a superb old Victorian home which John and Rosemary have restored with a lot of love and hard work.

We stayed in The Egmont room which is a very large room, with a separate dressing room and ensuite bathroom. The furnishings and fittings and bed linen etc were luxurious. The bed was divine. The Heat Pump keeps the room beautifully warm on chilly nights.

John and Rosemary are delightful hosts – very warm and friendly and down to earth and make you feel very much at home. As has been said before, nothing is too much trouble for them and they welcome you as friends. We would have no hesitation in recommending Villa Heights to anyone who prefers to surround themselves in an environment of quality where down-right good old fashioned hospitality is served up with lashings of cream! We'll find a reason to return to Villa Heights soon.

Room Tip: Even though a little more expensive book the Egmont Room as lovely and spacious, with lots of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Villa Heights is a superb place to stay, located in beautiful countryside, but near to town. It is a beautiful home surrounded by lovely gardens and has the most awesome views of Mt Taranaki. John & Rosemary are excellent hosts and a stay with them always feels like visiting old friends. Nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Simply the best.

Room Tip: Both front bedrooms have awesome view of mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
5.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#2 of 25 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#1 of 25 in New Plymouth
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range: £85 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing