We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, stunning view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, stunning view!”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We only had one night which is much too short for that place. Our room presents a very beautiful view through the front garden with mount Taranaki in the back - just awesome!!! The breakfast with the self made plums was just the perfect start into the day. This B&B is definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were treated to scones and jam the moment we arrived and Rosemary and John's hospitality and friendliness continued on in a similar vein for the duration of our stay. We have already booked for next year! Lovely B&B.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We really enjoyed our three nights at Villa Heights B & B.
Beautiful location - mountain and sea views
Wonderful welcome - tea and homemade cake
Very comfortable and spotlessly clean room and en-suite
Great food
John & Rosemary are the best hosts ever!
We enjoyed their company and chats.
Having travelled the world, this is the best B & B ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had a very warm welcome to Villa Heights. Despite having had a busy day with their garden open for the Taranaki Garden Festival Rosemary soon had the kettle on and a Devon tea was enjoyed. It was certainly 'home from home' The beds were comfy, the view from our room awesome, all in all a wonderful few days before our return to the UK.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in and I am very fussy when it comes to accomodation. John and Rosemary are such lovely hosts and went out of their way for us - even giving us advice and recommendations for the area. As soon as we arrived Rosemary put the kettle on and was so homely and welcoming! We couldn't believe how lovely our room was - beautiful views and so clean and cosy!! Even a heat switch for the lovely en-suite! And the heat pump was so nice to warm the room up after a hard day of walking! The bed was so comfortable and the supply of complimentary drinks in the fridge and home baking was another part of the exceptional service they provide. The breakfast spread that they put out for us each morning was wonderful and just what we needed to start the days of walking!! Being at the front of the villa, you get plenty of your own space and could even go for a coffee on the front veranda when you first wake! I'm not keen on dogs but their lovely friendy dog daisy just added to the friendliness of the place! We cannot praise this b&b enough - the service, the cleanliness, the beautiful bed and amazing gardens and views!! Put it this way - never before have I bought the owners of a b&b or hotel chocolate to say thankyou but i felt i wanted to for John and Rosemary! If you're looking for somehwhere to stay in Taranaki and enjoy being in the countryside (but not too far from the city) then this is your place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn27B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay, and thank you for your review, we do appreciate your kind words. The garden is open the end of the October and we are very busy getting it up to scratch, hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

After our long drive from whakapapa, we arrived late in villa heights. As we were totally exhausted from skiing, we didn't have any energy left to search for a restaurant. Rosemary immediately prepared some lovely toasts with cheese and we could taste her freshly baked chocolate cake. John gave us useful informarion about the environment. After a good night, I couldnt wait to open the curtains... Never had such a nice view out of our room: stunning! Make sure you don't miss this experience!!! Finale touch: delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay,thank you for the review. It was nice for you to see mt Taranaki in all it's glory. We would love to have you stay again. Rosemary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadina, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at the very best bed and breakfast we have ever experienced. Rosemary and John's attention to detail is the tops. We awoke to a view of magnificent Mt Taranaki each morning and then had a lovely breakfast and a stroll around the pretty gardens. We can fully understand why this BandB has so many 5star reviews.

Room Tip: We had the Taranaki room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junegregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for the review, we appreciate your kind remarks.and pleased you enjoyed your stay and the weather was good for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#3 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing