We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrington Motel(New Plymouth)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Abode on Courtenay(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzroy Beach Motel(New Plymouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pukekura Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
153
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount taranakiperfect hostsan easy minute drivemaking our stay wonderfulhosts johnthree nightsforgotten worldbreakfast was deliciousother guestslocal attractionsstayed longercity centrerosemarylabradoraccommodationensuiteplymouth
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay and Rosemary and John are perfect hosts. The garden of this property is stunning and a joy to wander through and the house itself is lovely. The story of it being moved and re set in this location is fascinating. Views to the mountain from our room made our stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mt Egmont room and it was spacious and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you David and Marianne for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the kind words you gave us, and feel humbled by them. If you ever come back to New Zealand we would love to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Thank you John, Rosemary and Daisy for making us feel so welcome. Your Certificate of Excellence for 2013 is well deserved and we can see why you received this accolade. You can be sure we will be recommending your B&B to everyone we know who may be passing your way.

We stayed two nights and soon realised New Plymouth has much more to offer and we needed more time to fully appreciate the area. After our initial reservations about staying out of the city, we actually found you were well located for a number of attractions around New Plymouth. With good instructions and recommendations from John, it was easy to fill our time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandS-AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Villa Heights, we appreciate the kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rosemary and John are exceptional hosts and have created a fabulous home and place to stay. Our room had a great view of Mount Taranaki, with a supremely comfortable bed and luxurious shower room with quality bathroom products. We were greeted with delicious home made cake and tea on arrival and more home made cake appeared on our return from our day out the following day. Their breakfasts are a real treat! Our hosts advised us about eating out and places to visit and sorted out a hire car problem for us. Their garden is a delight and the family dog gave is a great guided tour around it while chasing the rabbits! We stayed with Rosemary and John for two days and would have liked to have stayed longer. We can't recommend them highly enough - if you're going to Taranaki, do book in at Villa Heights! Thank you Rosemary and John for such a delightful stay!

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front with views of Mount Taranaki are fabulous!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravellers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Villa Heights, we appreciate the kind words you wrote and feel humble. If you ever come to New Zealand again we would love to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night but should have stayed a few more, but the schedule didnt allow. We arrived late afternoon after a drive down from Auckland. We were met by Rosemary and Daisy the house dog. We were quietly and friendly shown our room, and features of the house. As it was afternoon teatime Rosemary served coffee and homemade chocolate cake and left to ourselves in the conservatory looking onto the back garden. The garden seemed newish but was flush with interest. We walked round it with Daisy. The property is elevated, you knew that from the name. So it had wide views to New Plymouth and Paratai Rock and also to Mt Egmont/Taranaki. An extensive vegetable garden with the humble potato grown as well as fresh strawberries. An Irishman cant be separated from a potato for very long. The rest of the garden had fruit and nut trees growing. In particular the feijoa tree which produces beautiful fruit in the autumn. The garden is quite extensive. It was a joy to sit in and go ah ha.

On returning to the house John introduced himeelf to us. Still has a lilt in his voice. Even though both he and Rosemary had been in New Zealand as young couple and had raised a family and now have grand children.

In the evening decided not to go out and stayed in our room the taranaki room at the front of the the house. It has views straight onto the mountain. The room was well equiped with tea and coffee making together with a small fridge. This was a bonus for me as being diabetic and carrying insulin. The room also had a heat pump (not used), TV and ensuite. Small table and chairs. The wifi was particularly fast so I was set for the evening playing online bridge.

Chose to not interact with the other two couples that had arrived, due more to tiredness.

The bed was comfortable as I just conked out. Woke up in the morning refreshed. Had the cooked breakfast. Interacted with the two other guests a german and a kiwi couple. The lively conversation you get when strangers are thrown together.

We said our good byes.
Then departed, for the drive back to Wellington.

I highly recommend this b&b. It hit the spot for me.


Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank one236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Villa Heights, we appreciate your kind review and enjoyed your long write up about our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent the night at Villa Heights with John and Rosemary who were outstanding hosts. Lots of little extras such as chocolate cake with a welcoming cuppa and chocolates beside the bed. Their home was beautifully furnished with a real homely feel, complimented by a superb garden and family dog. They were an extremely accommodating couple, helping to plan dinner and making bookings for us and provide lots of information about the area. Breakfast was a real treat and the whole experience was one of the highlights of our extended weekend. Will definitely recommend to others. Thanks.

Room Tip: 2 rooms have a georgous view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate you kind words, and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Heights. We hope you will come back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews