We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional B&B”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We can't recommend Vila Heights B&B enough. It is right up there with the best we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in lots of B&B's around the world. Every attention has been given to detail and making your stay perfect. The house is beautiful and the surrounding countryside stunning with views to Mt Taranaki and the sea. We loved the rural location and found the trip into town so easy and scenic too. The bed was very comfortable, shower and bathroom clean, towels luxurious. The room was spacious and easy to use with luggage etc. Internet connection was faultless. Even a TV to watch from bed if you care to. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and presented in a very special way. Rosemary and John obviously work together as a perfect team and run this B&B very professionally but also with their warm, welcoming personalities coming through with every touch. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us who really love the B&B experience over the impersonal hotel/motel option. We must also add a thank you to Daisy the lovely resident labrador who had impeccable manners but always appeared at the right moment to give us a welcoming tail wag!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakes Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Warm, cosy and friendly country hideaway. We felt at home the minute we walked in the door. Bedrooms are spacious and exceptionally clean, and the bed very comfortable. Quality furnishings with added extra's like plush dressing gowns and extra large towels. Not only did we have tea and coffee making facilities in our room but also a small fridge, ample soaps, shampoo and conditioner. Very knowledgable hosts regarding the local sights and current events. Beautifully landscape gardens for a stroll, or somewhere quiet to read. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent variety. Ideal if you don't want to be in the noisy city centre.

Room Tip: All rooms exceptional quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAndrew3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was my first experience of a B&B accomodation , and i couldnt have chosen a better property.
From the initial drive into the beautiful manicured garden settings of this early 1900's Villa.
To the warm greetings recieved from John and Rosemary, including the scones and tea served on arrival .
The bedrooms are appointed to a very high standard , with a high level of attention to detail.
Exceptionally clean, both bedroom and en-suite bathroom , with high quality amenities and towels.
I was very appreciative of a complimentary bar fridge int he room offering , soft drinks , water and beer .
Bed was a dream to sleep in , and breakfast was a delight to start off the day .
I think that this B&B offers standards and service, some times not found in 4 and 5 star hotels .
Overall i would recommend this property to any traveller that would like home comforts ,but also exceptional high standards,
i will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our first experience of B & B lived up to previous reviews and more, wonderful property and garden. John and Rosemary could not have been more helpful, we were made to feel part of the " family" from the moment we arrived to our departure. Like previous guests we would have loved to extend our stay , unfortunately this was not possible The room was immaculate with lots of little extra's and attention to detail The breakfasts were great and it was nice to have their own home grown veggie's for dinner. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much at Villa Heights that we did not want to leave. I guess that many of John and Rosemary's guests have felt the same. Very clean and comfortable in such a character home. Excellent full breakfasts to order including fruit and jams. Thank you John and Rosemary, we do not hesitate to recommend Villa Heights.
T and D. BC Canada

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is one of the best B & B's in the whole world, a truly very beautiful and superbly appointed traditional New Zealand home with the most wonderful hosts John & Rosemary - they are a delight so very welcoming and just cannot do enough to make your stay with them very special. The garden of their amazing home is as glorious as the house itself. Wandering around it accompanied by Daisy, a most friendly and cute golden Labrador is a lovely way to relax after a day spent hiking in Mt Egmont National Park or walking the lovely coastal walkway. Rooms are just beautiful, great beds, complimentary drinks in fridge, bathrobes and lovely toiletries all combine for a luxury stay in a atmospheric and historic home. If having a cooked breakfast, it is cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Extensive choices for continental breakfasts too. We are so pleased we decided to book 4 nights at Villa Heights - it's was the best 4 nights of our stay in the North Island.

Room Tip: Egmont Room at front of house has wonderful views of Mt Taranaki and the delightful front garden. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It is difficult to know where to start. Drive up to a beautiful garden, lovely old house and being greeted by a genial host is just the beginning. The spacious rooms with high wooden ceilings are spotless. The complimentary beer in the fridge most welcome and the whole house warm and welcoming.
Nothing was too much trouble for John or Rosemary, booking dinner, suggestions on where to visit all part of the service. Oh, did I mention the mountain views while lying in bed?
Cancel everything, do not miss this place.

Room Tip: Any room is good but we recommend the Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186266Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
234 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#2 of 24 in New Plymouth
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing