We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, relaxing, beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxing, beautiful”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it was splendid. John & Rosemary are such welcoming people. Upon arriving a cup of tea and home made treats were offered which were great after a day on the road. The rooms are exceptional with an en suite with all the luxury items required to feel pampered. The rooms are large, comfortable and views amazing. A fully cooked breakfast of your choice is offered for the morning and it was delicious. The house was nice and warm with a fire roaring in the guest lounge, which has a large TV and couch. The welcoming tail wagging Daisy was also on hand to say Hi and walk you to your car each morning. Can't say enough about the hosts, house and area. Thank you John & Rosemary for making us feel like part of your extended family and making our stay one of the best B & B stays we have ever had anywhere.!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
saltash
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived at Rosemary and John's house an old villa which has been restored. We were shown to our lovely room the garden room. It was very well appointed. We were then offered Scones and cream and a lovely cup of tea.
John recommended a restaurant Funky Fish for the evening meal which was very good. We did find the drive back in the dark somewhat daunting as the turning into their road which is a long one, is rather hazardous if you have someone driving too close to you and it is easy to miss.
However the breakfasts were wonderful and set you up for the day. Lovely fresh fruit and a choice of cooked breakfast. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Villa Heights is an old villa that has been meticulously restored. Rosemary and John are charming hosts, happy to share their story with you, but not intrusive.. The house is warm (a pleasant change from many old villas) and very comfortable. We had the Egmont room and were disappointed we could not see the mountain when we arrived but next morning there it was in all its splendour!
It was nice to be welcomed with scones and a cuppa. We enjoyed a BBQ dinner with luscious lamb chops etc., and a substantial breakfast with many choices. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple.
We can thoroughly recommend both the house and the hosts..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 462GrandMay462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was simply an outstanding experience. To arrive at about 4pm after a longish drive to be greeted with " would you be wanting a cup of tea and scones with whipped cream and strawberry jam" by Rosemary.
Lovely spacious and beautiffully furnished bedrooms with all facilities and a spacious dining room and sitting room along with a very sunny conservatory. The attention by Rosemary and John was excellent and friendly but unobtrusive.
The house and gardens are a masterpiece in themselves and demonstrate Rosemary and John's attention to detail and excellent taste
They offered a simple but excellent evening meal with complimentary drinks, and the breakfast is also excellent with a wide range of cereals and fruits and a cooked breakfast as well; and then there is the toast ( brown bread with or without grains......)
The views are spectacular and although out in the country it is only a 10 - 20 min drive to most of the wonderful attractions around and in New Plymouth.
For all of the facilities and service the price is very reasonable and we would definitely want to stay there when next visiting New Plymouth. No negatives at all.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and quiet. Ours had sweeping views to the east and got the sunrise. Our frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tm_bevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were looking forward to new Plymouth as we wanted see mount taranaki.
Our room was the Egmont room with views from the window of mount taranaki.
We had crystal clear skies and awesome views.
Villa heights is a beautiful house with wonderful gardens, hard to believe it arrived in 3 pieces on a truck 10 years ago!
John and rosemary are lovely hosts who exude all the charm of their irish heritage even though they have been in New Zealand 47 years.
Accommodation, service and food excellent.

Room Tip: ask for the Egmont room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We can't recommend Vila Heights B&B enough. It is right up there with the best we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in lots of B&B's around the world. Every attention has been given to detail and making your stay perfect. The house is beautiful and the surrounding countryside stunning with views to Mt Taranaki and the sea. We loved the rural location and found the trip into town so easy and scenic too. The bed was very comfortable, shower and bathroom clean, towels luxurious. The room was spacious and easy to use with luggage etc. Internet connection was faultless. Even a TV to watch from bed if you care to. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and presented in a very special way. Rosemary and John obviously work together as a perfect team and run this B&B very professionally but also with their warm, welcoming personalities coming through with every touch. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us who really love the B&B experience over the impersonal hotel/motel option. We must also add a thank you to Daisy the lovely resident labrador who had impeccable manners but always appeared at the right moment to give us a welcoming tail wag!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Warm, cosy and friendly country hideaway. We felt at home the minute we walked in the door. Bedrooms are spacious and exceptionally clean, and the bed very comfortable. Quality furnishings with added extra's like plush dressing gowns and extra large towels. Not only did we have tea and coffee making facilities in our room but also a small fridge, ample soaps, shampoo and conditioner. Very knowledgable hosts regarding the local sights and current events. Beautifully landscape gardens for a stroll, or somewhere quiet to read. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent variety. Ideal if you don't want to be in the noisy city centre.

Room Tip: All rooms exceptional quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAndrew3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
309 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
222 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#2 of 24 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing