We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at the beautiful Villa Heights set in lovely gardens, with John as host. Villa Heights is in a lush rural setting, but an easy, short drive to all local attractions.. John was attentive without being obtrusive, a great conventionalist happy to share his ample knowledge of the area when asked. His chef skills were greatly enjoyed at breakfast time, and the complementary glass of wine with him by the fire the night we were back earlier was a nice end to the day. The bed was SO comfortable, with quality linen, everything was spotless, and all the little extras were there -toiletries, dressing gowns to lounge in, chocolates by the bed at night, home baking left in our room for supper (or maybe it was afternoon tea that we weren't back in time for!!) We were so impressed and enjoyed ourselves so much that we have booked 2 rooms for ourselves and our close friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversaries together later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful, would have been happy in any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 640Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying at Villa Heights, and to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a super review. I am pleased John looked after you well while I was enjoying my time in Ireland. It will be lovely having you come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I have just had 3 nights at Villa Heights using it as our base while touring Taranaki. John, our host was flying solo that weekend but had everything organised and ready for our arrival. The house has been restored with little expense spared and each room is beautifully prepared with everything needed for a comfortable stay. The service and amenities reflected the quality of this fine home and garden.

John is a gracious and knowledgeable host and provided us with very nice breakfasts each day. It's an easy 10-15 minute drive to the city or over to Inglewood, Egmont Village and the mountain.
We look forward to another visit one day and can recommend Villa Heights as a top place to stay in New Plymouth.

Room Tip: The King and Queen rooms face the mountain. However apart from this the Valley room is just as comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. I was happy to hear that John looked after you while I was at a family wedding in Ireland. I hope I will have the opportunity to meet you one day. Kind regards, Rosemary and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the moment you arrive at Villa Heights you feel at home. We recently stayed for 3 nights and both John and Rosemary could not make us feel more welcome. Each morning we were served breakfast of our own choice in a warm and bright dining room. Our room was well appointed and the beds comfortable with luxurious linen. They both gave us time to answer any questions we had on sights to see and things do in the area. We left looking forward to returning again in the not to distant future.
Thankyou to you both.
Angela and Allan, Christchurch

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review.. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a great place to stay while you are in the Taranaki Region. Well located for easy access to the mountain and to New Plymouth with very welcoming and knowledgable hosts. Extremely comfortable with a lovely garden and terrific views of Taranaki as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The window of each of the front rooms frame Mount Taranaki, pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review and staying at Villa Heights. Hope you had a safe trip home to Hobart. It was lovely to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I just spent 2 days with Rosemary and John. They have a wonderful property in a great location and they are excellent hosts. Our room was spacious, spotless, and well appointed. The breakfast is outstanding, and the hosts very helpful and accommodating. We would happily go back for another dose of Villa Heights any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerndtRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it was splendid. John & Rosemary are such welcoming people. Upon arriving a cup of tea and home made treats were offered which were great after a day on the road. The rooms are exceptional with an en suite with all the luxury items required to feel pampered. The rooms are large, comfortable and views amazing. A fully cooked breakfast of your choice is offered for the morning and it was delicious. The house was nice and warm with a fire roaring in the guest lounge, which has a large TV and couch. The welcoming tail wagging Daisy was also on hand to say Hi and walk you to your car each morning. Can't say enough about the hosts, house and area. Thank you John & Rosemary for making us feel like part of your extended family and making our stay one of the best B & B stays we have ever had anywhere.!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltash
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived at Rosemary and John's house an old villa which has been restored. We were shown to our lovely room the garden room. It was very well appointed. We were then offered Scones and cream and a lovely cup of tea.
John recommended a restaurant Funky Fish for the evening meal which was very good. We did find the drive back in the dark somewhat daunting as the turning into their road which is a long one, is rather hazardous if you have someone driving too close to you and it is easy to miss.
However the breakfasts were wonderful and set you up for the day. Lovely fresh fruit and a choice of cooked breakfast. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#3 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing