We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”
Review of Carrington Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrington Motel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This property is exceptionally tired. If you would like a room that is back in the 1970s this is the place for you. It was dirty,the dishcloth in the kitchen was actually black, and freezing cold, even with two heaters. There is a door at the back of the room that leads to housekeeping, they have a key not you, and they come in at their leisure, yelling housekeeping as they walk in. I put a chair against the door to prevent this from happening for my second day.
You can hear other people in the complex showering, going to the toilet, talking and yep even 'enjoying' themselves. The photos on Booking.com I'm sure are not this property, it looked nothing like them. The people who run the complex seem lovely but it is time to spend $$$$$s on this property not just take them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
25
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
napier
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there on the 1 July. When I made reservation I asked for a quiet room, it turned out to a bad night.

accommodation service, you would expect a place you would have a good night sleep right ?

first I got waken up by their roommaid who was cleaing the room upper floor at 8.30am. They cleaned the room straight after guest checked out despite the disruption to other guest on the lower floor.

It seems to me that they do this on purpose to get rid of the guest to check out as soon as possible.

Second i was so surprised, their roommaid knocked the door and then sudden open without a 2 second wait. The worst part I was naked after came out from the shower. This happened at 9.55am according to my smartphone. This was an unacceptable practice.

there is an internal door that the motelier or roommaid can open into your room at any time, sorry you cannot lock the door from inside.

they also have a sign inside the room saying that guest must clean the dishes before they leave, its not part of their service !

I will not return and wouls not recommend this motel at all.
the interior is tiring and old, they only provide limited facilities and lower quality of amenities.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank NattachaiChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Plymouth hotels

Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This Motel was recommended to me and I was pleased that I took the advice. The room was spacious and would really suit families. It does need some updating but the price is great value. It is very well equipped having everything you need for short or long stays. There is ample room for gathering out the back where there is a barbecue and privacy as there is an area with a hill covered in bush. Unlike a lot of other places there is ample parking available The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The closeness to Pukerua Patrk is a real bonus. I ended up with an upstairs room and then found I had got the last availiable accomodation which showed the popularity of the place. The closeness to Pukekura Park is a real bonus.

Room Tip: If you have disabilities I suggest booking in to get a room downstairs although I had no trouble at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Large, spacious, very clean older style unit which is showing some wear. Well equipped. Beautiful outlook from the rear units to a bush clad hillside where we had the joy of watching the native Wood Pigeons and Tui's.
Only a short stroll to the city and Pukekura park which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogibears4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We were looking for accomodation near Pukekua Park. Very happy with the value for money room. The room was very clean and the bed comfortabe. Very friendly service and advice. Will visit
again when in New Plymouth again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisdV2469ZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

If you want somewhere that is clean to crash the night, I think this is a good find. Although the interior is dated the motel offers clean linen and a small all-in-one kitchen (stove top/grill/oven together) which I find useful for the two nights stay.

Room Tip: ours was a corner site which I believe was quieter than other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneCApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just stayed here for two nights the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely white linen. The unit was very clean and tidy and quite with being off the road. The big plus it is pet friendly. I did love the gardens as well they were very well maintained. The laundry facilities were very much appreciated due to the storm we had and needed to dry our clothes .We would not hesitate going back to stay here again. It is very close to the city so lots of shops on hand and anything else you may need. Thank you for your kind friendly welcome and a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We looked out on the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
2.8 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#13 of 30 in New Plymouth
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Motel

Property: Carrington Motel
Address: 61 Carrington Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to city centre, TSB Stadium, Pukekura Park, Bowl of Brooklands, Outdoor BBQ area High Speed Wifi available, Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing