We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tidy travellers hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tidy travellers hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very clean and tidy with friendly staff.
In room continental breakfast was convenient, close to city, comfortable furnishings

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    31
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Bella Vista is a good, simple motel, located just around the corner from the waterfront. It was a very short walk to the playground at the end of the road, and to a couple of good cafes (Arborio was great for dinner). The queen-bed room was a good size, with plenty of space for the two of us. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We booked 2 rooms for a 1 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed staying here. It was very clean, our rooms had plenty of space and the hosts are marvellous. We got lots of information from them and they made us feel very welcome. The location is ideal and they even have bikes for you to use. New Plymouth in general was a nice place to stay and it was made even better by our stay at this Bella Vista motel. Just as a little tip, the waterfront walkway/cycle way is great for running as there is over 10kms of pathway away from the traffic and the Pukekura Park is lovely for running/walking/meandering through. Value for money is exceptional but even if it was more expensive we would stay again, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IronmanFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincentia NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights during the Rugby World Cup. The Location was very good and just a short stroll to the CBD and the sea front. The one bedroom apartment was more than adequate although the bedroom was a bit on the small side. Kitchen had all the basics.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fusspot1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed St and Sun night of the World cup as a couple. Rooms are TINY,I dont think you could even swing a cat in them and as for anyone else coming into your room you all have to sit on the bed!!!!big wardrobe juts out as well. Tidy enough and central but dont book a queen studio if you are expecting it to be roomy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 439travellerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We chose Bella Vista because of its location so we could spend a weekend exploring New Plymouth. The reception was friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the price was good.

The motel is well located to the city, and is across the road from the Govett-Brewster Art Museum (we had breakfast there and highly recommended it), as well as several restaurants being within walking distance. The motel has bicycles and helmets available for free use to explore the coastal walkway and other areas. The parking is off-street, plentiful and free. We had a nice dinner at the Salt Restaurant nearby. We would recommend this motel to anyone wanting a good value and a comfortable room in New Plymouth City.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisInCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

got the winter special $119 continental breakfast for 2 and queen room. Looks exactly like every other Bella Vista but is in a great location. Park the car up and walk to everywhere in town. Means you can have a couple of drinks with dinner and have no problems. The hosts were very friendly and supplied us with more coffee than we were probably entitled too! Will definately stay again

Room Tip: Ask for any special they have going, and ask about Bella Vista Membership
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
The Dawson Motel
The Dawson Motel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#23 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth

Property: Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Address: 32 Queen Street | Corner of King St & Queen St, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing