We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One Burgess Hill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timandra Motel(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pukekura Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Egmont Eco Lodge(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Carrington Motel(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lockwood Manor Motel(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
244
47
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
47
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselite studiooverlooking the riverclassic studionative bushshort drive from townliving area downstairsbird liferural outlookusername and passworddeep bathfloor to ceiling windowsmt taranakiking sizesmall gymspa bathcity centremodern accommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in the penthouse. This was magic, awesome service, freindly host all too willing to help. Stunning cleaning room. All the little touches to make a special occasion more special, such as romantic candles in the bathroom. Fire was awesome and so was the private outdoor spa. We will be back.

Ps breakfast thrown in was just yummy, Salmon, bacon, cream cheese and mushroom crossants!

Room Tip: Penthouse all the way, very quiet with heaps of space
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan and Darry... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Although the view would have been good from an upper level room. We were on the ground floor and you could not see the river from inside your room. The room was poorly equipped. It did not have several basic items, such as pen and small pad, no bread Knife, no bedside shelf on one side of the bed to put your drink. In addition to this it was quite out of town. We thought there was much better motels/hotels right in the heart of New Plymouth within walking distance of the Great Coastal walk.New Plymouth was a great place to visit, we would not go back to this hotel. No restaurant at it or anywhere near it either.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 66Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at One Burgess Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you Claire for your feedback and we too are disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay at One Burgess Hill. We have developed our property at an amazing location overlooking the river, native bush and farm land only 5 minutes drive from the CBD with all rooms having an excellent view over the surrounding property.
As we are self contained apartments we do not have a restaurant onsite but have 3 excellent restaurant choices delivering meals to the rooms. We believe we offer a good selection of complimentaries and our kitchens are well equipped for cooking requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed five nights in a two bedroom unit, high above and overlooking the river. Bedrooms and bathroom upstairs with full glass walls overlooking the river. Downstairs a large kitchen, dining and living area downstairs as well as a second toilet. This area also had a full glass wall on one side. High quality fittings throughout, very comfortable beds, plenty of cupboard space in the bedrooms. Bathroom had good bench space, and bath/spa with shower over (the shower was brilliant). Definitely a home away from home, very comfortable and restful.
Only a short drive from the city centre, but completely away from traffic noise and congestion.
Just one little drawback, the unit we stayed in had security lights under the eaves which stayed on all night (the staff were able to turn them off one night when other guests were already in). This was really disappointing as it meant we had to draw the curtains to sleep which was a waste of the beautiful location. It is a shame the lights cannot be on a timer which turns them off later in the night, as is the case in many other establishments.

Room Tip: If you prefer to sleep with curtains open, ask for a room without the security lights.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Since visiting Burgess Hill, we have decided all bedrooms should have a bath in them!
The view and setting is fantastic, the rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully laid out. A great escape from the city!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is about our 5th year we have stayed here, we love coming back to the peacefull suroundings and the sound of the river. I love the fireplace and the 1 bedroom suite is our favourite. So will be back again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews