We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Tranquility”
Review of One Burgess Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
One Burgess Hill
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

These units are located a little way out of downtown New Plymouth but are certainly worth the effort of the short drive into town.
Situated in spacious well manicured grounds the units look across lawns/paddocks to a fast flowing river and hills. Lots of birds and other wildlife can be observed from the balcony particularly in the early mornings and late afternoon.
The units are totally self contained and furnishings are top grade. There is a small kitchenette with a two burner hot plate, microwave, toaster, large sink, and enough cutlery and crockery to hold a banqet.
The bedroom/lounge are combined but very spacious with high ceilings. The bed is a huge and comfortable king with lovely soft pillows.
A flat screen TV with Sky channels is provided with a comfortable couch to sit on. There is a dining table with two chairs. Iron and ironing board are provided.
The bathroom is beautifully appointed with a huge bath, shower toilet etc. Toiletries, big range of coffee/tea etc are provided even down to a couple of chocolates for after dinner.
Cable internet is provided at a minimal cost.
This property is top of the range but with reasonable rates so if you are looking for somewhere plush, tranquil(can walk down to the river) then I would not go pas this place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Not sure I should share this wonderful property as it is being harder to book my monthly stay here!
I travel to New Plymouth monthly on business and love my two nights here.
A wonderful rural setting, how many other motels do you have to stop to let quails cross the road...
An awesome out look over the river, with a lovely walk which is very relaxing of an evening.
Fantastic rooms, very comfortable and the added bonus of baths. All of the rooms are well heated, or cooled with heat pumps/air conditioning.
Extremely quiet, being a rural setting.
As a business traveller the wireless connection is a must and this is well provided for.
Andrew and Hamish are wonder hosts, always very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have stayed here a few times and always enjoy my time here. The owners are really friendly and offer amazing service. Best bits - The beautiful views, great shower pressure, self contained kitchen, spacious rooms, modern decor, very clean. Down sides - No wireless signal, heating varies between rooms some are noisy at night, no extractor fan in the bathroom, no on site restaurant (but you can get takeout delivered from town).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Last_one_standing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The setting is truly wonderfull-I'd love to stay in the Summer and sit outside looking over the river and bush view. Wonderful tranquil setting, units clean and comfortable, owners extremely helpful and friendly, whenever I'm in New Plymouth this will be the first place I check for availability.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here for just one night in July 2013. Upon arrival was offered buy-up to Penthouse for just 45 NZD extra, accepted. Penthouse was very nice, clean, bedroom + dining area and living room with two-sided fireplace, which I used and it provided so much heat that is was actually even too much. Had to call an owner for Internet username and password, which were provided free of charge and Internet worked very well. As the property is privately owned, I must say all honour to the owner to maintaining the property excellently, it even has fitness facility available. Upon departure Taranaki Mountain showed itself from the overcast sky for a few minutes for perfect finish of short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Only 2 minutes drive out of town, great quiet location, modern, comfortable and very well maintained apartment.
Open plan living/kitchen area with floor to ceiling windows, sofas, fire place. Clean and tidy. Bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Beautiful river view from the bedroom and from the back yard area. Would be great to sit outside and listen to the sound of river down below....Well, next time we'll pick summer instead of winter so we can enjoy the great outdoors...
If you are looking for privacy and complete relaxation and peace and quiet this is the ideal spot. If you want to cook and prepare meals yourself - no problem, you have a kitchen with cook top and a microwave, plates, utensils and so on. If you don't want to cook, the town offers restaurants as well as fast food outlets ( KFC, McDonalds,Hungry Jacks, etc. ).
On the night we were there was extremely windy, wet and cold so the fire place came handy. There is also a small heater in the living room but on really cold winter nights wouldn't warm up the whole area, especially because of the open space between downstairs and upstairs area. But together with fire place was warm enough.
We can't really fault this accommodation. The only thing we would wish to have was some sort of heating in the bathroom upstairs. It was freezing cold in the morning when having a shower, brrrrrr.....
We highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Go for a 1 bedroom suite instead of just ordinary room, it's worth the extra bit of money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I found this place randomly and I stayed one night along with my friend.
We were happy with the view and the service was excellent.
The owner was very polite and helpful.
The motel is nicely built but because its wooden and the wall is rather hollow you could hear footsteps from the people upstairs and noises that they were coming down a set of stairs leading to the entrance.
The best thing about the room was the spa tub which had a lot of different settings and my friend was happy with this but because the bathroom had no ventilation to suck the steam out it meant my friend was suffocating inside.

We were a little disappointed with the TV channels compared to other motels we stayed right at the city centre of new plymouth. There were Sky movies 1 & 2, the normal TV 1,2 and 3 as well as prime while other motels had discovery channels, cartoon network, history etc...

Another problem staying at the motel and not of their fault is that there's hardly any mobile reception in the rooms so If i was on a business trip i would avoid this place altogether

We haven't tried the restaurant or swimming so will leave the review at excellent.

The scenery is pretty nice for this motel. If you don't mind the above then try this motel yourself

Room Tip: Pick up stairs, never live downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
3.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
3.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Burgess Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Burgess Hill

Address: 1 Burgess Hill Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#2 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Burgess Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your One Burgess Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill Hotel New Plymouth
One Burgess Hill New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing