We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One Burgess Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One Burgess Hill
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at One Burgess Hill in an Elite Studio for two nights - the night before our wedding, and our wedding night. Myself and my flower girls also got ready in our room. It is such a stunning and peaceful location - the sound of the river, and the birdlife, create such an atmosphere. We also saw rabbits bounding about the lawn! I am hoping that in future we can find another excuse to come back and stay, since we're locals! We will definitely recommend One Burgess Hill to any out of town visitors - it is affordable luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    45
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
182
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5 minutes drive outside of New Plymouth surrounded by green land and a river on 3 sides. The gurgling of the river was the last sound we heard before going to sleep and the first thing in the morning. The rooms are modern spacious and in as-new condition. We couldn't have been made more welcome. I thoroughly recommend this property for a couples getaway or business.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The studio suite was beautifully decorated and comfortable. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed looking out at the scenic valley views. A perfect location for exploring with easy access to river walks, gardens and local restaurants. Our hosts were wonderful and assisted with access to free Wi-Fi and the contemporary gym. An idyllic rural retreat, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisonroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

A lovely, clean studio room with chic but comfortable furnishings. We wished we could have stayed longer to better appreciate the peaceful surroundings and the local animals (rabbits, sheep, birds) but we arrived late at night and left the next morning. Our arrival late at night in the rain, and approaching from the south at the blind rise, meant we had a bit of nervousness stopping and crossing SH3 to confirm where we were and get to the entrance, so do your research on the approach from the road!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place has the wow factor. Just on the out-skirts of New Plymouth with amazing rural, bush and river views. So peaceful and comfortable. We stayed in a two bedroom unit which was huge, with sliders that opened up most of the front wall out to the lawn. Lovely hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom room for 2 nights. The room had a large dining, kitchen and lounge area downstairs with two bedrooms upstairs. The view was amazing from the bedrooms and upstairs bathroom. King size beds. Very high standard of cleanliness in all areas. the grounds were immaculate. The most peaceful and tranquil place I have stayed and it will be my first choice on future visits to New Plymouth. Only 5 minutes from the town.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms would be great and have good views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Have stayed here before and find One Burgess Hill comfortable, clean and peaceful. Lovely view across to the river. Studio units plus more luxurious units available. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay away. 5 min drive to the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
3.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Burgess Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Burgess Hill

Property: One Burgess Hill
Address: 1 Burgess Hill Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#2 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Burgess Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Burgess Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Burgess Hill Hotel New Plymouth
1 Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing