We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a PERFECT place to stay, look no further!!”
Review of One Burgess Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Burgess Hill
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a PERFECT place to stay, look no further!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

- The hotel is set on beautiful grounds with a river running below. You can go on a nice short walk along the river loop and the views are idyllic. You will wake up to a beautiful view, no doubt.
- The hotel is in a quiet location yet only 5 mins drive to the city centre. It is a perfect place to retreat after a day of activities within the Taranaki region. As you are driving out of the hotel, you can see a beautiful view of Mt. Taranaki on a clear day. The Mt. Egmont National park is only 25 mins drive away from the hotel. Ofcourse, you need to have a car if you are staying at this property.
- We were greeted by Andrew who was very friendly, polite and gave us travel tips. He was warm and welcoming.
- We stayed in a King suite that was spacious and extremely tidy. I would give 10/10 for cleanliness. The bathroom was huge and had a lovely bath hub and also a really nice shower. The room has a small kitchen which has all the basic utensils, cups, wine glasses, plates, cutlery, cookware, etc. Very handy.
Overall, I would give this hotel 5 stars and I can't stop recommending it highly to all my friends. I am certainly coming back and staying here again.
Keep up the great work and service!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSwag84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    45
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
183
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We recently stayed a night at One Burgess Hill and were happy with our experience. Service was friendly and the grounds are very park-like and pretty. Our room overlooked the river and ferns which was one of the best views we've ever had from a motel. A few minutes drive from town. Just a few petty things eg only 2 towels provided, shower door didn't close properly so kept flooding the bathroom floor and it's a little irritating to have knocks on the door in the morning because they want to clean the room well before check out time. But we'd still highly recommend to all travellers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had high expectations of this place given the reviews and we were not disappointed. Set across a range of buildings in the grounds the location is superb with the river running below. Our room was spacious, modern. clean and very well-equipped. The bathroom was a huge wet-room. Andrew at check-in was very welcoming and friendly.
We had one major problem though and it was beyond the hotel's control. The weather during our stay was unremittingly dreadful (the tail-end of a tropical storm - we never saw Mount Egmont once during our three days here) and as our unit was located on top of a ridge the wind and rain just battered in against the windows all night long. That said, we loved One Burgess Hill and will have to return one day to actually see the mountain. When we do we shall stay here and hope for the good weather that would be the icing on the cake.
Just a couple of points though. There was a DVD player in our room and given the foul weather it would've been good to have a selection of movies for the evenings but (unlike many other places in which we stayed) there was no DVD library on offer. This could be easily and relatively cheaply rectified. This also links to my second point which is that be aware that One Burgess Hill is not actually in New Plymouth but about 5 or so minutes drive outside, so having your own transport is pretty much essential for getting into town for meals etc.
To conclude though, this is a splendid place and I very much hope to be back before too long.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in an elite studio room. One Burgess Hill is located outside of town so you definitely require a car to get into New Plymouth. At the top of the driveway is the most spectacular view of Mt Taranaki.

Check in was easy and the staff pleasant and welcoming. We stayed in an elite studio room which is upstairs and has a detached bath at the window. I found the staircase to be quite narrow and struggled lugging my suitcase up to the top.

The room itself was new, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and tea and coffee supplies were in the kitchenette. We had a good night sleep with the roar of the river in the background.

Internet access and phone reception was super limited, could only use my phone in the bathroom. I found the lighting in the room a bit off. It didn’t look like they were in the best positions to actually light up the room properly. The casing around the bath looked a bit flimsy and to be coming apart too. Tried to go for a walk on the property in the morning following the signs but got down the stairs and it just seemed to end so we went back up.

Overall a nice stay. Would visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KasTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have been traveling NZ for 2 weeks and this is the best accommodation. In wins on several points.
1) Best shower
2) Best view
3) Best heating - (slow combustion wood heater)

The bed was great, the room was spacious. The quality of furniture and fitting is A1
On a cold evening in July is was great to get a wood fire going. The radiant heat was so much better than a split system AC. ( which was also available).
On arrival the manger was friendly and welcoming.
You must stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on a suggestion from a friend. We booked the elite studio which has a bath right at the window! It was a great choice as we were able to tramp up the mountain then return to a hot bath and telly! The view from the room was beautiful and the sound of the river at night was like listening to rain on the roof which was very soothing. The service was welcoming and always friendly. We will definitely be returning here!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 326allyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights during winter for a long weekend. We were lucky enough to get the penthouse apartment for a really great rate - it pays to call them directly and ask!
The room was amazing, really spacious with great views over to the river. Our closest neighbours were a herd of cows in the paddock next door.
The room had a woodburner which heated both the lounge and bedroom, and gave a lovely cozy feel.
The penthouse apartment has a verandah out the front like the other rooms, but it also has a private courtyard to the side with a picnic area and a private spa bath.
The only downside was an outside light which we couldn't turn off, which lit up the bedroom.

Room Tip: If the Penthouse is available, don't hesitate, it has a private outdoor spa and outside area awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
3.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
300 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Burgess Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Burgess Hill

Property: One Burgess Hill
Address: 1 Burgess Hill Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#2 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Burgess Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your One Burgess Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill Hotel New Plymouth
One Burgess Hill New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing