We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing is too much trouble for Sharyn and Paul.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing is too much trouble for Sharyn and Paul.”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

As a corporate client, I stay at The Northgate many times each year and can honestly say that since Paul and Sharyn took it over, the standard of the rooms has continued to improve since I first stayed there back in 2009. Paul and Sharyn always make me very welcome and they and the cleaners are extremely honest. I dropped my wallet without realizing it and the cleaner who found it, gave it to Sharyn who promptly made several calls until she finally tracked me down and I was able to get my wallet back before I left New Plymouth.
The rooms are quiet and well appointed with heat pumps that work and a small kitchen which is ideal. I especially like the large flat screen TV, and now with the addition of MySky, I can generally find something to watch when the weather turns bad.
The high speed wireless internet is great for my work stuff and being so handy to town makes it great for getting a meal or hopping out to see what is going on.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants an affordable motel close to all the city. There is plenty of parking and it is QUIET!

Room Tip: Tell Paul or Sharyn if you have any specific requirements at the time of your booking. They will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejayz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thankyou so much for the time you spent writing a review about our motel. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so pleased that you have a comfortable stay while you are away from home on business. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    76
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
71
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at Northgate Motor Lodge during the Rugby World Cup, and it was a great motel to base ourselves in. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quite well sized (although a little dated) with parking out the front. It's an easy 10 minute walk to Devon St, Pukekura Park, supermarkets and restaurants. A good base to explore New Plymouth and Taranaki.

Room Tip: When booking some rooms, it will say 3 people max, however they do have rooms that sleep 4, so just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Than you for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
90% of our rooms are now renovated to 85% of our renovation programme and feedback so far is that the rooms are looking great. I hope to have all rooms to at least 95% by the end of November and to 100% by December 24th, in time for the summer. You did stay in one of the 2 rooms that we haven't yet done anything and I'll be starting on those in Mid Novemebr.
In the meantime, all units now have Brand New super quiet fridges.
We find most of our guests remark about the convenient location and Pukekura Park and the Coastal Walkway are ceratinly amazing assets to the city.

We hope you enjoyed the Rugby World Cup and we hope to see you back again sometime.

Thanks

Paul and Sharyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

On arrival we were greeted by friendly Sharyn and her cute little girl. We had Room 19, which had been painted but was still heavy with paint fumes (not a good idea to paint during winter as it takes too long for the paint fumes to dissipate). After 40 minutes in the room my eyes, throat and nose were irritated, so we asked to be moved to a room that had not been recently painted, which Sharyn did with ease. Thank you Sharyn! Our constructive criticism is... 1) please clean the BBQ, it was laden with grease from the last chef. 2) While using the shower the water temperature suddenly went to extremely hot, and although my husband got out of the way of the hot water, it unfortunately heated up the stainless shower floor, which saw him hopping out rather quickly. This would not be safe for children or slow moving people, like the elderly. 3) The spa pool water was musty smelling. A bit of maintenance is needed in there. The big bonus was a lovely comfortable bed and a flat screen TV. The motel we stayed in the night before had a terrible bed, so our sleep was awful and we both had sore necks and backs, and a TV from the dark ages with terrible reception... so we were delighted to have a decent TV and a very cumfy bed to catch up on lost sleep.

Room Tip: Ask if they have recently painted the rooms... and choose one that hasn't been painted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Hi, Thanks for your review. We're sorry about the paint fumes in 19, but I have been working very hard to get the units painted and updated, we thought we were doing the right thing by putting you in a recently painted unit. However, I guess it may have been a bit fumy and aplogise for this. We have now finished our painting programme for the moment and the rooms are looking great and we are getting many great positive responses regarding the improvements.
Regarding the BBQ. We are usually aware when someone has used the BBQ, as they have to ask us to use it and then we check it afterwards. However, it appears someone had used it without us knowing and left it a bit greasey. You'll be happy to know that it has now had a thorough clean and all ready for the spring summer season and we'll be making sure it is kept at a high standard.
Regarding the Spa pool. I check the pool every day to make sure it is all ok, but sometimes when it gets busy, it's a bit hard to monitor it when several people us it over the space of an evening. In those circumstances, we rely on people informing us of the quality, at which point I can rectify the problem immediately.
Thank you for your review, we are always striving to ensure that our guest have a pleasent stay.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Paul and Sharyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Was worried when I found myself in the rooms near the busy street, but soon realised that this had the best double glazing I had ever come across. You could not here a thing at all. 10+ Puts my trust back in "Double Glazing"
My sky was the main reason for booking, 50 channels of sky is pretty rare in motels. Stayed for 2 nights so set up some items to record that I would of missed because of appointments.
Room was tidy and clean. Staff chatty and friendly. Quick to fix a internet router that had crashed for me. 2GB of internet given, awesome, beats the lousy 50mb most hand out as free internet.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: leave the earplugs at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a positive review, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that the double glazing really works too! More and more guests are choosing the executive studios that you stayed in, ensuring they have a comfortable and peaceful stay.
My husband Paul enjoys being able to set up our own MY SKY to record his favourite programmes also. Hopefully the MY SKY system will be of benefit to other guests in the future. We are pleased that the internet worked well and that you had a decent amount of free access to complete your work. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Please feel free to let your friends know about our motel if they are coming to New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in one of the rear rooms, which was blissfully quiet. The kitchen had everything I needed, and there were plenty of places nearby to get food. The room was clean and well looked after.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and had heaps of advice on things to to in the area.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Hi Paul, Firstly thankyou for spending time out of your busy life to write a review on Trip Advisor. Yes, the studios up the back by the relaxing garden/BBQ area are blissfully quiet. Just to let you know that when you return, the studios have been repainted and refurbished with new chairs and bedside tables. Adding to a more comfortable stay with style. Along with SKY Guest Select units in every studio, meaning you can relax and choose from 50+ channels.
Hoepfully we'll see you again when you pass through New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and had fabulous service. Enjoyed the location, handy to town and beaches, supermarkets, etc. Rooms (we had adjoining rooms, with the children) were spacious and very clean, had everything we needed. Hosts were very helpful, had loads of information and helpful hints on the town and nothing was a problem. We had rooms at the front, near the main road but there was no noise inside, very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Yes, the double glazing in our executive studios really does add to a comfortable stay! If you are travelling through again, the rooms you stayed in now have 50+ SKY channels. Glad that you found so many wonderful things to do here in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Convenient location, with quiet, comfortable rooms which have recently being upgraded. I was so impressed with the service that we now use this motel for all our staff bookings in New Plymouth. I have stayed here for 3+ months out of the past 6 and will definitely be returning.

Recently upgrades to high speed internet have made This more convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thankyou for your review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back and we are so pleased that the renovations have added to the comfort of your stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you check in. We really value your returning business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Property: 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing