We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely motel”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Excellent in all ways except when driving in or our and you have to cross traffic, however, there is a rear entrance. Our only complaint about New Plymouth itself was that none of the Banks would accept our credit/debit cards at their ATM's.
Motel was clean, host & hostess extremely friendly, close to shopping but the room was quiet as the traffic in that area quietens down in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hello, Thankyou for taking the time to put a review up about your stay at our motel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our second entrance off Lemon Street.
We are so sorry that the banks were not helpful with your cards even though we tried to assist by suggesting where to go on a Saturday. We hope you return to New Plymouth again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
74
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

great place to stay a while - Clean, large room with full kitchen facilities Sky TV, fully equipped BBQ, free laundry (with clothesline) Close to 4 Supermarkets and a nice walk to town to shop! Helpful and friendly hosts ...and to top it all off the weather was perfect and the nearby shops had massive sales! Restaurants everywhere within walking distance. A great place to hang out while hubby worked!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask and they will organise it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here for a while. We are pleased that the weather was lovely and that you enjoyed 'hanging out' here. It is a lovely walk into town, especially along the foreshore walkway that is easily accessible from us. We hope to see you again and thankyou for writing such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Pretty modern facility for our stay in New Plymouth. Location was good on a main drag with tons of grocery stores. A little far for walking to city center, although we did. Hosts very nice and helpful. Let us use their office computer when we had to upload something for work back home. Room was big enough with small kitchenette, great shower, sky cable with movie channels, free wifi, free bikes, free off street parking, AC. Bed was pretty big and comfortable with soft blanket. Quiet. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thankyou for spending your time to write such a positive review about your stay at our motel. We are pleased that you found your stay quiet, a good location and that we were helpful. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This motel has everything you need for a pleasant stay. Kitchenette with hob, kettle, microwave, fridge, pots and pans, cutlery, cups etc. TV with 50 channels of SKY, comes even with MySky, airconditioning, shower and toilet, dining table and in our Superking studio it had a super king and single bed. Friendly staff and close to CBD. Would stay here again when next in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JipJanneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
We are so very pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you would stay with us again when visiting New Plymouth. We get alot of positive feedback in particular regarding the Super King beds! Thankyou for choosing to spend the time to put on a review, we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
538 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I asked for a quiet room and was given one in a single-storey block away from the main road, up the hill. Wish granted! A/C and a modern TV with 50 channels, including SKY are at one´s disposal. The kitchenette has everything you need, including a two-ring electric hob and microwave oven, to cook a proper meal. Unfortunately, there was no dining table in our room. Wi-fi with 2GB is included in the room price. Most restaurants are a car ride away. We can certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your quiet stay with us. Thankyou for taking the time to write such a positive review and to recommend our motel to others. The kitchens are well set up for guests wishing to cook. There are dining tables and chairs in our super king studios for those wishing to sit down at a table for meals. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in an upstairs studio room that was great except for the very bouncy bed! We liked the extra bin for recycling (the first time we have seen this in a motel and a very good idea) and also the use of soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower - much easier than trying to open those little bottles and less waste.
The traffic was very noisy when we arrived but very quiet at night so not a problem. The continental breakfast was good value and the owners very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wensnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our motel and we hope you return again on your next trip to New Plymouth. We have had many positive comments about our recycling of rubbish and we are glad that you appreciated it too.
The installation of the double glazing has been worthwhile, meaning that guests like yourselves get to enjoy a peaceful stay.
We are glad that we were helpful, which always adds to a stay away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Standard motel, clean and tidy, management pleasant.
We had three rooms booked for 6 nights while in town for NZ Bowls Nationals. We advised the manager prior to the fifth night stay we would be moving on the next day and did not require the sixth night as we were out of the tournament. We were changed all three rooms for the sixth night.
Have stayed in New Plymouth numerous times and never had a problem with advising the motel on the day we are out of the bowls and off the next day and never, never been charged for an unused night(s). Usually stay elsewhere but the accommodation was book by someone else.
Will not be back to Northgate; recommend the bowler friendly Amber Court Motel or Lockwood Manor Motel just down the road and closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thankyou for your review and we are glad that you found our motel clean and tidy and the rooms comfortable. As owners we pride ourselves with the standard of our motel. It was apparent during your stay that you were more than happy with our facilities and our professional and friendly service.
Your booking, made through a web agent, was quoted for a total of 5 guests, 5 ladies of a bowling team. You actually showed up with a 6th guest and then you had another 7th guest to stay. We didn’t charge any extra for these guests which I think was very reasonable of us.
You cancelled 3 rooms ON the night before (not prior like you stated), during peak season for a reason which was completely your own choice. You decided to leave the tournament early; it is quite unfair to expect us to shoulder the financial loss of rooms that remained empty as we had turned away several possible bookings for those rooms. But it is even more unreasonable that you malign us in a public forum, and promote other motels within that comment. We work extremely hard to operate this motel and are quite devastated by this posting as it has the ability to harm our business when we have done nothing wrong. We are one of the most lenient motels around when it comes to enforcing a cancellation policy but we felt we were justified in this case. Other motels we have spoken to, including one you have mentioned, and Qualmark have said we are quite right, and were amazed that we hadn’t charged you for the other 2 guests as well.
We wish you all the luck for your tournament next year and that you enjoy the rest of the wonderful summer.
Paul and Sharyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Property: 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing