We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive And Comfortable Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Inexpensive And Comfortable Place To Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in October 2013 with a couple of friends in the room next door.
It is on the main road into New Plymouth and despite double glazing on the windows which cuts out most of the noise, some road noise can still be heard and as I am a light sleeper, I had to put in some ear plugs. This is the only reason I am not rating it 5 stars.

The studio super king room was nice, everything was clean and the bed was super comfy.
My Sky HDI was a bonus and not common in motels and this enabled us to record an All Blacks test match played before sunrise so that we could see it over breakfast at a more civilised hour.

The owners are very pleasant and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review after staying at Northgate. We are so pleased that you enjoyed using the My SKY decoder, yes, not many motels have this added extra. And the super king beds do get loads of positive feedback! We hope to see you again when you are in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
74
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My mother and I stayed in a studio room here in April. Room was spacious and modern, however their was linen missing on a couple of occasions and 2 of 3 lights didn't work. Not big issues but not a helpful attitude from reception. Made me feel they were doing us a favour letting us stay there! Rooms and location were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfeetWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi we glad you enjoyed but are obviously emabarrassed about our poor service. We apologise that some linen may have been omitted from your room after servicing, our cleaners do very well but there is the very odd occassion when we are busy that something may inadvertantly get forgotten. We are sorry if our response to anything was less than you expected, we do endeavour to provide an excellent service for everyone all the time, but perhaps we missed the mark on this occassion, and for that we apologise.

We hope you had a good holiday.

Regards

Paul and Sharyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is definitely one of the neater, more elegant and professional motels that I've stayind in in New Zealand. The accommodations are good sized with high ceilings, the linen is clean, the amenities are well maintained and some of the fittings seem to be new. The environs are quiet, there's a separate barbecue area and the spa is great. Located handy to the downtown area, you can access the motel from two streets – a welcome feature in downtown New Plymouth's maze of one way streets. Recommend it highly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thankyou so much for writing a glowing review, sorry it has taken us so long to reply. We are so pleased to have the feedback from you as our guest, we hope very much hope that you return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Very good location in New Plymouth, and a great base to visit Mt Egmont and its National Park. Helpful managers, good facilities and our queen studio had room to spread out. Great advice for dining out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thankyou for writing a positive review about your stay with us. As owners we pride ourseleves with how we manage our business and assist our guests. We hope that you will return to New Plymouth again and choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My wife, my son and and I only stayed here briefly for one night. Rooms were clean and of a good size. Friendly and helpful proprietor. Easy drive into town but quite a walk. Ample parking spaces. Didn't get to see New Plymouth as we were in a hurry to get to Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thankyou for writing a review about your stay with us. We are pleased that you found the studio clean and of a size that suited you all for the one night. We hope you come through New Plymouth again, it is an easy 15-20 minute walk from us along the foreshore walkway into town.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Excellent in all ways except when driving in or our and you have to cross traffic, however, there is a rear entrance. Our only complaint about New Plymouth itself was that none of the Banks would accept our credit/debit cards at their ATM's.
Motel was clean, host & hostess extremely friendly, close to shopping but the room was quiet as the traffic in that area quietens down in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hello, Thankyou for taking the time to put a review up about your stay at our motel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our second entrance off Lemon Street.
We are so sorry that the banks were not helpful with your cards even though we tried to assist by suggesting where to go on a Saturday. We hope you return to New Plymouth again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

great place to stay a while - Clean, large room with full kitchen facilities Sky TV, fully equipped BBQ, free laundry (with clothesline) Close to 4 Supermarkets and a nice walk to town to shop! Helpful and friendly hosts ...and to top it all off the weather was perfect and the nearby shops had massive sales! Restaurants everywhere within walking distance. A great place to hang out while hubby worked!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask and they will organise it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here for a while. We are pleased that the weather was lovely and that you enjoyed 'hanging out' here. It is a lovely walk into town, especially along the foreshore walkway that is easily accessible from us. We hope to see you again and thankyou for writing such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Property: 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing