We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice motel, clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a very comfortable and clean motor lodge. The rooms are tidy and the staff are helpful and friendly. I would happily spend a long weekend here and would highly recommend for value for money. No real criticisms, just a very comfortable and well appointed motel. Being on a main road, the front facing rooms are a little noisy but nothing too disastrous.

Room Tip: Avoid, if possible, the rooms overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bybhuggjijbigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Firstly, thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your stay with us. We are so pleased that you would come back to stay, New Plymouth is a lovely place with so much to see and do. The front super king studios do face the road, but are set away from the road and have very good double glazing. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Was good place away from main area yet in town and around most shopping precient will love to stay again they get travellers from all sorts like sports people,cyclist mountaineers ,retired peoples
Only at times you hear people moving during night time

Room Tip: Also got heated spa and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramram47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a positive review following your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice and Tidy room,bit too noisy for my test as it is very very close to the road and we could hear every car passing by.not great.handy location though close to everything and very friendly staff especially the man who was very helpful and full of information.full range of sky tv was a nice suprise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thankyou for your response, we are glad that you found our location handy. Yes, we are situated on the main road, but we do find that our guests that stay in the units with the double glazing are usually very impressed by how quiet they are. We are sorry that you did not find this the case for your stay. We hope you return to New Plymouth again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I'm not sure of the age of this motel, maybe an 1980's build, but it has had a reasonable re-paint which has modernised it up. Added to that, our unit had a new kitchen appliances, bathroom vanity unit and toilet suit. Though the floor coverings hadn't been replaced, and are probably next on their upgrade list.

The bed was a good sized Queen, and was nice and comfortable.

This was the only place we stayed on our recent trip that had full Sky HD with My Sky available. Normally this isn't something that I would worry to much about. But for our entire stay in New Plymouth, we had very heavy rain, so many of the outside activities we had planned had to be shelved. So time with plenty of TV channels to choose from actually came in handy. That said, with the pitched ceiling and roof, and the less insulation that comes with such a design, we could defiantly hear the rain when it was at it's heaviest.

Because of the rain, we drove in and out of town. It was reasonably close, but I'm not sure how long it would take to walk the distance.

The staff at check in and out, where professional and knowledgeable.

I would have no problem using this motel again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thankyou for your response, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, that was a queen studio with a My SKY unit which normally belongs to the Super King Studios, an advantage for your on your stay! It is only a 15 minute walk to the city centre along the gorgeous walkway which is accessible near by from the motel. Hopefully your next stay in New Plymouth will bring you better weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great location. Handy to restaurants, supermarkets & beach.
Quiet, private and comfortable.
Wifi, lovely BBQ area, computer available.
Make sure you take walk up to Pukekura Park over summer in evening to see light show!
Great trip in from the north to NP - lovely windy roads.

Room Tip: Studio rooms at the back are private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us and in New Plymouth. It is great to hear that the accommodation you booked, provided all that you needed. We hope to see you again and thankyou for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Spent ten days at this Lodge and couldn't really fault the accommodation or location.
Owners are more than helpful and do their best to look after you and give tips on local travel and sights.
There is no resteraunt as such but you have all the tools at hand to drum up a snack or cooked meal. Five mins up the road will give you a choice of fast food or more higher class eateries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grifficx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thankyou so much for writing a positive review following your stay with us. We are always so pleased to hear that as owners we have been helpful to our guests which adds to your stay. We do hope that you return to Northgate again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in October 2013 with a couple of friends in the room next door.
It is on the main road into New Plymouth and despite double glazing on the windows which cuts out most of the noise, some road noise can still be heard and as I am a light sleeper, I had to put in some ear plugs. This is the only reason I am not rating it 5 stars.

The studio super king room was nice, everything was clean and the bed was super comfy.
My Sky HDI was a bonus and not common in motels and this enabled us to record an All Blacks test match played before sunrise so that we could see it over breakfast at a more civilised hour.

The owners are very pleasant and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review after staying at Northgate. We are so pleased that you enjoyed using the My SKY decoder, yes, not many motels have this added extra. And the super king beds do get loads of positive feedback! We hope to see you again when you are in New Plymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
347 reviews
1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#9 of 30 in New Plymouth
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing