We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food and excellent service”

Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
Ranked #24 of 172 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$3 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We dined at Arborio as per the recommendations here (to celebrate a special occasion) and we were not disappointed. We were served by Simon, who also owns the place and I must say the service was exceptional. We had the spicy calamari for starters (which is good for 2-3 people to share), and for mains ordered a pizza and oven roasted lamb back strap, which was both very filling- the portions are worth the price. The ingredients used were fresh and of high quality, esp the lamb. For desert we ordered banoffee cheesecake which just melted in your mouth and was so creamy and rich. That certainly put us in a food coma! Overall, this place has a great ambience and serves delicious food. Keep it up team Arborio!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelSwag84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Arborio. The decor is lovel and trendy and although we visited on a Sunday evening it was nicely busy with a good atmosphere

I had the fosh of the day - perfectly cooked monk fish whilst my friend enjoyed the soup amd delicious pesto / hummus bread

It was a bit pricey ( $35 for a main) but for a treat it was worth it
Definitely a place to splurge in.

Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience - it means a great deal to the team, thanks! Hope you will come and visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

One of the steady consistently really good restaurants. Service very good, menu excellent, changes reasonably often. Makes very good pizzas as well even for take away. Staff friendly chatty but not obtrusive. Good to see standards being maintained too.

Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience - it means a great deal to the team, thanks! Hope you will come and visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a Saturday evening reservation for 6pm, Four adults and two littlies (for one of the adult's birthdays). Arrived on time, were seated and very quickly felt pressured because we were advised that another group were booked at our table for later on. We were (verbally) pressured to order, did so and were served a very nice first two courses. Time was obviously of the essence, as the wait staff were clearing the glasses and cutlery as soon as they were put down. My almost finished main was removed as my grand-daughter was finishing it off without asking. We were expecting a dessert menu but weren't asked if we wanted to see one. When we mentioned it, the response was "If you want dessert we'll have move you to another table"...Fail. Needless to say we paid for our 80 minute visit and left. Friends and colleagues have been astounded when they asked how our dinner out was. Won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smiths797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments.

I regret to hear that your experience did not meet the mark this time, my sincere apologies. I hope that you will consider contacting us at the restaurant if you would like to discuss your experience any further.

We value feedback such as this so that we can continue to improve.

Kinds regards,

Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

As title says went to Arborio on two occasions in the same week. Both meals and experiences were amazing. Wait staff were fantastic and food divine. Great company, atmosphere and overall experience. Had the fish special and the mussels - yummy. Can't fault it and will definitely be returning asap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mosscopeekotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience - it means a great deal to the team, thanks! Hope you will come and visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing