We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vita

Bella Vita
Ranked #12 of 161 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open for Lunch everyday 11:30am to 2:30pm Open for Dinner everyday 5pm to late
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We were a large party that went to celebrate a birthday. Food was nice and decent size portions. We all had a variety of dishes from steak to lasagne to risotto and spaghetti. Everyone seemed happy and the byo option was really useful. The reason I've given 4/5 is because the waitress was efficient but humourous and the kid's meals were way too hot (hotter than the adult ones) which made them difficult to eat. Overall a nice evening!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jarr_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella V, Owner at Bella Vita, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Jarr,

We thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. We have now taken steps to rectify how hot our lasagna dish is when serving, especially to children. We appreciate that you choose Bella Vita for your special occasion.

Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    74
    21
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A absolute treat for your palette!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Bella Vita is definitely one the best restaurants in town and by far the best Italian restaurant here. The staff is friendly and warm and the food is YUMMM every time !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TanMisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella V, Owner at Bella Vita, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Many thanks for your super feedback. Your positive comments are very much appreciated.

We will look forward to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitara, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our meals we had scallops & mussels for entrée and pasta and steak for main our dessert was cheese cake and tiramisu it was delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank waitaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella V, Owner at Bella Vita, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback - we are really glad you both had a good time dining at Bella Vita and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful food, OMG the seafood risotto is out of this world, the service is top notch, with smiles accompanied

A meal here is well priced !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella V, Owner at Bella Vita, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Hi Mark
Thank you for your feedback - it is much appreciated. We are glad you loved our Seafood Marinara and found our meals to be good value.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant on a Saturday night, finding it hard to find somewhere with a table! Although this restaurant was in fact full, when we asked for a table, they quickly made one up for us which was great!

All of the food we ordered was delicious & full of flavour. We ordered the bread platter & wanted to swap one of the items out, which was no hassle for them. We all had pasta dishes & were impressed with the delicious flavours & how well cooked the meals were. As I see it is mentioned in another review, I was surprised at the limited pasta main options available - I think there were 3, maybe 4 in total. 2 of us had dessert, which were of very good size and again, were deliciously full of flavour.

My main criticism was asking to have a glass of wine replaced for a fresher glass, only to be told that it was strange I sent it back as the bottle had 'only been open 12 days prior'. However, the glass was replaced with no hassles, which was very appreciated.

The restaurant atmosphere was nothing to rave about, but pleasant enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NZJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Vita also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Bella Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing