We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobb & Co. New Plymouth

Cobb & Co. New Plymouth
Ranked #85 of 162 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$14 - US$25
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The steak special was very average,but the waitress was top class,and her service was very pleasent,when leaving there seemed to be no hurry for the staff to take payment,wouldn't visit again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nzkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Owner at Cobb & Co. New Plymouth, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear nzkw

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff's top class service. I will certainly pass that onto to them.
I am sorry you will not visit again and found the steak meal average. I would love to hear specific feedback as to why and if you are so inclined to do so, you may contact me at cobbecat@xtra.co.nz.

Regards
Melanie Corbett
Owner/ Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

three visits - three complaints - wont be going again - cold food, undercooked vegetables or is it over microwaved cant get the fork in the cauliflower ,, when the waitress says what is wrong before you voice what is ,, you know that something isnt right!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Cold, disorganised, flickering lights, boring food but it was Valentine's Day so we didn't shop around. Wouldn't recommend it unless you just want to feed yourselves

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome staff and care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We popped in to grab a meal before heading home. The staff went out of their way to arrange a table and the food was great. Good service, good food and well worth visiting again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 969Marina_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Last resort or convenience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The picture accompanying this restaurant is not actually part of the establishment!! Very misleading. We ate at this restaurant because it was across the road from where we were staying. Some food advertised on the menu was not available and hadn't been for days. We were told there would be a half hour wait although there were empty tables. Apparently the kitchen staff couldn't cope with any more than about 20 diners at a time.

Food took far too long to be served and the attention to detail was not there eg when you ask for no ice in a drink you don't expect to get it, if you ask for 2 spoons to share the dessert you expect to get it. Observing the staff at work it was evident that there were no systems in place to take orders, or clear tables. Wait staff would pass tables more than once and not clear dirty plates from customers who had long finished and left the diner (not good enough to call a restaurant!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. New Plymouth also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co. New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing