We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out for our workplace celebrations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar

GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #105 of 161 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out for our workplace celebrations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our night out at GCR. Had organized a set menu with the team that was delicious and we had space in adjoining lounge to have platters and have our speeches. The staff were friendly, helpful and organized. Would visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
“poor dining experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth last month. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, called GCR restaurant. We ordered Asparagus & Mushroom Risotto. When it came, there was NO asparagus and NO mushroom, only beans and spinach. When we complained to the waiter, the chef denied that this was the case. Had this been communicated at the time we ordered, we would have picked another dish. We then escalated this incident to the manager, and she confirmed that due to delivery issue there was NO asparagus and NO mushroom delivered that day, hence these needed to be subsituted by other vegetables. The manager did offer a dining voucher which was not taken up by us.

This is a very unpleasant dining experience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
In addition to our email conversation, thank you for your review.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused. As I explained in our email correspondence earlier this month, there was a produce delivery issue with the fresh asparagus and this item was not available. I agreed that this should have been explained to you by the wait staff when ordering as this incident could have been avoided from the outset. However upon hearing of your disappointment, the Chef did offer a complimentary side of vegetables to accompany your meal in an attempt to make up for this incident on the night. In addition we offered you a voucher so that you may have so that we could have the opportunity to restore your good faith in our restaurant.
Rest assured our staff have been given re-training in this area and we will be changing our seasonal menu in next two weeks using the freshest local produce available.
We appreciate your feedback as it is through comments such as yours that we may continually improve our product and level of service.
You have my contact details should you wish to take me up on the offer of the voucher.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a few meals at the GCR over our weekend in New Plymouth. They were beautifully prepared, served and delicious to eat. Would definitely have a meal here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jen_knee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am glad your enjoyed your meals at GCR and thank you for your comments. We have a great new chef on board and we have recently updated the restaurant with a fresh paint. We are updating the seasonal menu soon and hope you will come and try it.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Typical Hotel Resaturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I did like that breakfast you could oder a-la-carte rather than the usual buffet. Eggs Benedict were good. Coffee could be better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for your feedback regarding our new breakfast menu. I agree, it is much nicer to have a la carte menu rather than a hot buffet for breakfast. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back to GCR @ Copthorne Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“service with a smile.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

There was plenty of room in the restaurant, Simple uncluttered layout, prompt service.Tasty food. Excellent cooked breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fussy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback regarding GCR Restaurant & Bar. We appreciate your comments about our service.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing