We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marbles Buffet Restaurant

Marbles Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 161 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, Asian, Chinese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dining will never be the same after your experience the magic of a night at Marbles Buffet. A huge variety, the choice will bewilder. Freshly baked breads, seafood, carvery, flavours from around the world a fabulous array of desserts, cheeses... The food is unbelievable, but the atmosphere needs to be experienced to be believed. Book now, and experience the magic of Marbles!
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently visited Marbles to celebrate our son's birthday and we had a fantastic time. The food was of a very high standard and has greatly improved since our last visit to Marbles three years ago. There is a wide range of food, which means that everyone is sure to find something that they like. What was really good as well was way the staff very inconspicuously cleared away our plates during the meal (very frequently) and the number of kitchen staff attending to the buffet throughout the night to ensure that it was always refreshed and appealing. Our children loved the special touches of the balloons, colouring books, little packets of jelly beans and the colouring pencil packs. Dessert as well was a real highlight. The ancient Roman décor also added a fun touch to the experience. Overall, a perfect place for families to dine in New Plymouth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank insertnamehere26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback. Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter & Rosemary Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    40
    24
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A convenient surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and so decides to have dinner at Marbles. There was an amazing range of food and enough gimmicks to keep the kids amused. Food was hot and tasty. Dessert was varied and of high quality. Very busy on Saturday night, was glad we had booked for the 7:30 sitting. Kids LOVED it.

Helpful?
Thank PeppaPigNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for joining us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your night at Marbles with the family, and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Im a local here in Plymouth so Marbles to me is something I always look forward too.Great staff, good selection of food. Love the dessert Bar and love how they have a seperate section for the families and another for couples, friends, solo or business.My hubby and I come here quite often for dinner dates and we're never disappointed. Love the vibe and love the food. Everytime we leave we want to come back, which has lead us to return every month now. We are a grateful couple so no bad reviews here. Thanks for the memories and awsome experiences we always have

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shymo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for your kind comments, and for your support.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Three of us ate here at the end of a very busy day. Just what we wanted - a reasonably priced evening meal with a good choice of food. Large dining area, felt a bit impersonal, but the staff were friendly and the food was tasty. Would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback.
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were a company of 3. A good value all-you-eat dining. Wide selection of salad, cold/hot food, seafood, meat and desert. Waitress not so familiar with drinks available and had to return for a change. Since we were there just to gorge ourselves this shortcoming didn't bother us too much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wonggeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks for joining us, and your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't get to experience some of our fabulous cocktails too - next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbles Buffet Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Marbles Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing