We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish, generous serve”

Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #62 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, generous serve”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an appetizer and main here. We were very happy with quality of meal and service. Someone on line commented that prices were Auckland. My home town, but in Auckland you'd receive a child's portion with a tiny designer serving on a big plate; this is real! Ample. Fresh, tasty, and sustaining local produce. For a visitor like us, the friendly wait person also provided good local knowledge of what to see tomorrow.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
363 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Crazy chaos but a decent meal”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This little city centre restaurant was our choice on a busy autumn Saturday night and we got there at 7. It was packed with a noisy good humoured crowd. We'd obviously arrived 10 minutes too late as there were loads of tables waiting to be served and it took a while for our order to be taken. That was OK, we could see they were busy. It also took a while for our meals to arrive, same reason.

The food (seafood of course) was really nice, scallops beautifully done and the pan fried fish of the day. The amazing thing was the place was practically empty by 8 pm and by 8.30 we were the last ones left and the staff were cleaning up already. We weren't pushed out - no pressure - but the lights pretty well went out as soon as we'd gone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice vibe about this place.Simple wooden tables and chairs with a cafe feel. Local artwork on the walls. Staff attentive, not pushy. Food took a while, but they were very busy. Plenty of water to drink. Good selection of beverages.Food well-presented and beautifully cooked.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Meal with Good Service”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Wandered into this small restaurant on our second night in New Plymouth. I had the seafood platter and was very pleased with the grilled shrimp, grilled squid, and grilled fish filet. The traditional-battered fish cakes, oysters, and scallops were also very tasty. The cole slaw was was served so that you could basically choose to include the cheese and carrots or not. I mixed it all together and it was wonderful. Chips were, as others have said, hand-cut and delisious.

My wife had traditional battered snapper. She raved about it! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who likes good seafood in a cozy, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DSTDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and plentiful”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We hadn't been out for awhile so we decided on Seafood and our meal was amazing. There was plenty of it. Three of us had the snapper, and another the whitebait. Service was excellent, ambience good. Fully recommended if you like food and are hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeandmcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing