We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food - Kiwi style”
Review of Pankawalla

Pankawalla
Ranked #5 of 167 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Indian Food - Kiwi style”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We frequent this restaurant whenever we feel like good Indian food. The atmosphere is pleasant with very good friendly staff & quick service. Good sized servings to share. The naan breads are very good & it's nice to share there mixed platter. Highly reccommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    50
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pankawalla is definitely worth it”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Pankawalla delivered on 'bang for buck. My companion and I had the banquet, which was an excellent option from a menu with many tempting (and therefore difficult) choices. I remember this restaurant from 2006 - it was good back then, too, so clearly they're onto a good thing. Staff are pleasant and efficient. The interior is stylish but not overpowering. As of 31 December 2013, the banquet for two and bottle of pinot noir was $110 for two, and we were also able to take away what we couldn't eat. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lachlaninnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“NZ adapted Indian food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We had mixed platter to start. Garlic naan and rice shared with lamb rogan josh, chicken tikka, hot beef curry, fish curry, panneer and a couple other can't remember name. Very toned down even we ordered Indian hot. Nonetheless the service was good considering there is only one waitress.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“goodyyey”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

good atmosphere very good service place was not so busy but we got a good service and food certeinely loved it

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty poor to be honest and every ofer priced, we ordered chicken tikka and beef korma, lacked heat, breat also very average.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As above not worth anything else
But I have to because trip advisor wants me to.
Over priced for what others offer. Only saving grace was the mixed platter

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pankawalla also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Pankawalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing