We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian in New Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portofino

Portofino
Ranked #43 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Italian in New Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

From the Rocket Salad to the pizza, we always enjoyed ourselves. The owners were very good to us and we miss them!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
220 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were lucky to get in as the place was very busy. We had a table near the counter/serving area, so nice and warm.( we are from quite warm Thailand ) Though it was very busy the service was very good and friendly.The menu was all the usual popular italian dishes at reasonable prices.(plus BYO which helps ) I had lasagna which came in like a sauce.I mentioned this being unusual ,the owners wife said lasagna can be a bit dry so . It was excellent.
Although Porofino is now part of a chain this was family run and very nice. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Went to Portofino for a birthday dinner, all the meals were delicious and our wait staff friendly polite and efficient. Will definitely be returning for some of the other meals which also looked amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosscopeekotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Huge selection on the menu, dishes are big but very very tasty and the price is very reasonable. Venue quite small so can be a bit loud though, more ideal for a group of people rather than couples.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SERVICE PLUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

from the minute we walked in the welcome and service was superb the food exceptional and a great range of wines topped of by exemplerry service a fantastic night thank you to all the team that made it a great night

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickeyGee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofino also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing