We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit.”
Review of Our Place

Our Place
Ranked #59 of 165 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We shared one of the meat platters between us and thought it was well worth the price. Both of us left feeling satisfied. Will be going back to try the seafood platter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flametree16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for a drink”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Were visiting New PLymouth and happened to park the car outside Our Place. Noticed the sign said 2 for 1 cocktails so went in. Wow, great service, outside seating in the sun and a free platter of lovely food (served between 5 -7pm)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizR0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“platter for 3”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My friends and myself went to good home for a catch up. We order a platter for 3 people. After an hour we approached to staff to see why we had not recieved our platter. The person whom served us had forgotten she took the order and when the kitchen cooked it, they did not know where it went !! They did offer us a free drink while we waited... numbers would have helped. I also noticed that the first time i ordered drinks they where $14.30, but the next time for the same order they cost $16. I also ordered water for the table, which we never received. When we did recieve our platter it was very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for Friday drinkies”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Friendly staff, the complimentary nibbles with our drinks were impressive. They actually offer a vegetarian platter option! Best place we found for casual dining in New Plymouth.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great bar with good food”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We ate here on Saturday night having tried to get a table at three other restaurants in New Plymouth (two booked for functions, the other fully booked) - not easy to get fed in NP on a Saturday night! Fortunately Our Place had a table free, and we had a good meal there. Service was atentive and friendly, and the food and drinks were very reasonably priced - bottles of wine starting from about $30, and platters for two (more than enough for a meal) for $45.

We had Neptune's platter (seafood) - bacon and scallop/ prawn skewers, marinaded calamari, fish goujons, crumbed mussels, aioli, marinaded salmon fillet, potato chunks, salad greens. Only (very small) complaints were that the skewers and salmon were a little overdone and we couldn't really taste any marinade on the salmon. Also maybe more salad greens and less potato might have been better? Still, we enjoyed the meal. Finished with a honeycomb and caramel cheesecake, which was good - not as sweet as you'd expect.

There was quite a large function going on down one end of the bar, but we found we could still hear ok in the booth we were in, so it wasn't bad.

If I was back in NP again, I'd definitely want to try some of their extensive cocktail list!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNZ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Our Place also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Our Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing